We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed dining great quality in food”
Review of Valentino's Ristorante - CLOSED

Valentino's Ristorante
Price range: $12 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open Daily at 5pm. Romantic, relaxing and late night dining.Chef's table available for groups of 4 or more. Garden Patio seating overlooking the beautiful Mahone Bay waterfront. Catering services offered for special functions on site or off. Reservations are appreciated.
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining great quality in food”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Have eaten here a couple of times and would not hesitate to return again ! Celebrated by ourselves and with a group of 10 or more for my husband's Birthday Party last summer....food and service were both fine...food is tasty and fresh !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gannonmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Marion
Thank you for the review. It's always great to see you and your family when they are visiting you.
We look forward to seeing you again real soon .
Have a wonderful summer.
Val & Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    27
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden oasis”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Planned a simple evening of dining and decided to try Valentino's. Much to our surprise and delight we received much more!! The food was so delicious and the atmosphere so relaxing that we felt for a brief time as if we were on vacation. Our hidden oasis is now a place to be shared with all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
David & Patti Grazie for your comments and review that you posted.
We are always happy when we exceed our customers expectations and so happy that you felt so relaxed and as if you were on vacation.

We look forward to your return visit so you can vacation :) in our back yard garden patio on the bay.

Grazie
Val & Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem in Mahone Bay”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Yesterday was my birthday and we chose to visit Valentino's. We had been there twice before in the past few years. Last night's meal was wonderful. We were in the restaurant early and had the place to ourselves. In addition to the fabulous food and nice bottle of wine we had the chance to chat with the owners, Joanne and Valentino. It was a great evening and made for a wonderful birthday. I had the special, Fettuccine Alfredo with Chicken,, it was delicious. My husband had the lasagne and he truly enjoyed it. We started with a Caesar salad that had the perfect dressing, with a hint of lemon. The dessert was fabulous. A special treat made with their homemade Cherry Vanilla ice cream. YUM! Can't wait to return to this wonderful place in Mahone Bay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorianderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Diletto (Dear) Lori and Bruce
Molte Grazie- Many thanks for your review.

It is always a pleasure to be part of our guests memorable moments.
We are always pleased when our valued customers enjoy their dining experience in our restaurant.

Fino alla quando ci siamo incontrati di nuovo (until we met again)
Ciao Val & Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a fabulous evening and dinner. Many thanks to Joanne & Val for their hospitality, welcome and entertaining explanation of the lovely food and selections. From the wine to dessert it was all wonderful we will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy44444154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others by writing a review for us.
It was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Molte Grazie
Joanne & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

As Bed and Breakfast owners, we often have to make referrals for our guests. We also have to ensure that they will enjoy our recommendations!! Valentino's is a place to celebrate the simple pleasures of food, wine and good company in equal measure. This cozy spot is known for embracing old world recipes and techniques, and, where everything from seafood to meats to fresh pastas are prepared in-house with the same pride and care that a nonna takes in feeding her famiglia. We enjoyed our dinner immensely. We shared a caesar salad, that was crisp rich and creamy. We love a good Caesar!!! I indulged in the best Linguine Carbonara ever, even though it wasn't on the menu, Val made it for me. If I understand correctly it is on their new menu about to be released!! My husband asked Val to choose a dish for him!! He was delighted with the Seafood Linguine that Val had crafted. Amazing combinations of flavors in both pasta dishes!! Val and Jo are a wonderful couple who truly love what they do. We are so happy to have discovered this wonderful place!! Thank you for a memorable evening!!
Salute!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Molte Grazie per il tuo commento, (Many thanks for your review)

Lisa and Bruce, all of us at Valentino's would like to send a warm welcome to you both

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us.
Siamo lieti vostra prossima visita (we look forward to your next visit)
So fino alla prossimo volta (until next time)
Val & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's Ristorante also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing