We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by the light of the moon”
Review of Valentino's Ristorante - CLOSED

Valentino's Ristorante
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open Daily at 5pm. Romantic, relaxing and late night dining.Chef's table available for groups of 4 or more. Garden Patio seating overlooking the beautiful Mahone Bay waterfront. Catering services offered for special functions on site or off. Reservations are appreciated.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“by the light of the moon”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner for two in Valentino's back garden in September this year. The moon was bright and reflecting off the water. The firepits were kept well lit by the owner's son, the food prepared by the owner and chief Val was amazing and service was prompt even though it was busy. We were given blankets for our legs, music played in the garden, the atmosphere was lovely. Thank you for a wonderful meal and a lovely memory.
Dawn from Victoria, B.C.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Chow (Hi) Rob & Dawn
Grazie (thank you) for the kind words and for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.
We strive hard to give our customers a great experience and we are always happy to hear when we have achieved our goal.
We look forward to welcoming you back in our garden if you are ever in Nova Scotia again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    27
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The "Newfoundland Safari" Girls”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were had the most wonderful dining experience. The charming atmosphere and the great service was excellent but the food was devine . Last, but certainly not least was the after dinner toast that Valentine and Joanne graciously brought to our table to celebrate our anniversary. They sat with us and we were treated to a conversation with much laughter. It was excellent and was the highlight of our trip. Thanks from Joan, Elaine, Joan & Trudy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Diletto (Dear) Joan, Elaine, Joan & Trudy
Thank you for choosing our restaurant and posting a review on Trip Advisor
We will always remember the laughter we had with you.
We hope to see you soon - Grazie Val & Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I have appreciated Val's delicious offerings and Joanne's welcoming, friendly spirit since my first experience at their former restaurant in Queens County, NS. The food at Valentino's is excellent. The ribs are some of the best I've ever had. They never disappoint.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Chow Bella
Thank you for your review.
When you walked in the door it felt like a family reunion. It was so wonderful to see you and your mom.
We can't wait to see you on your next trip , as you have become Parte della Famiglia (part of the family)
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“Italian in every way”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

An interesting if not altogether exciting menu supported by a suite of Italian wines - which are sure to be fine if you know something of the genre. We took the coward’s option of the house red wine which proved to be adequate. The ‘daily chef’s creation’ grilled vegetable salad was outstanding and our entrees were all fresh, tasty and well presented. The table service was efficient and personable but the food was a little slow in being served – although it had evidently been prepared to order from scratch. On each of our two dinners the chef came out to greet us personally which imbued the dining experience with a welcome conviviality. It’s a nice place to enjoy a good Italian meal in cozy and comfortable surroundings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Mahone Bay
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Over priced, over hyped and very, very slow”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were welcomed warmly by Joanne when we arrived and had high expectations of what was to follow. We ordered the bruschetta to keep us going until the starters arrived, it was 20 minutes before it came, which was 5 minutes after a basket of bread. This bread was warm and had been fried or grilled (it seemed) with a sprinkling of herbs on top, it was rather bitter and not pleasant. The bruschetta was even worse! On top of the bread was a mixture containing raw garlic that dominated the flavour. The bread was in small pieces and the topping almost as high as the bread was wide, very difficult to eat without it all falling off. Chopped tomatoes with basil with a little olive oil would have been far nicer.

To start, my wife chose the minestrone and in fairness this was quite good, but where was the Parmesan cheese that traditionally accompanies it? I had the chefs special salad, grilled vegetables on a bed of salad leaves. I have eaten grilled vegetables in Italian restaurants, in Italy and elsewhere on dozens of occasions but never have they looked or tasted like this. They appeared to have been fried in a pan before being dumped on top of the leaves. Included we're 8 rings of white union that would not have been out of place on a hot dog. Everything had been cut too small, nothing had the sear marks of the griddle nor the charred taste that is so important with this dish and with no taste of olive oil. To charge 10 dollars for this was a travesty, had they charged 1 dollar it would still have been poor value!

For the main course we both chose a pasta dish. My wife's dish, I cannot remember the name, was similar to cannelloni and was topped with a tomato sauce. She left most of it! The tomato sauce was very dark in colour, suggesting it had been cooking for too long, and as such was very bitter. But strangely it just didn't taste Italian! I did think that perhaps tarragon or dill had been used as it seemed to have an aniseed flavour. Is was assured by Joanne that this wasn't the case and that it only contained basil from their own garden. I have certainly never been able to make tomatoes, onions, garlic, olive oil and basil taste like that!

I chose the fettuccini with scallops at 19 dollars. The pasta was the same sauce as spoiled my wife's dish and it spoiled this one too. It was so strong it completely overwhelmed the two or three scallops sliced into the sauce. Needed was a delicate fresh sauce sieved to remove the solids.

We were in the restaurant for 1 hour and 50 boring minutes, if the food had been good it would have been to long, for what we received it was an eternity.

Anticipating what Joanne might write in response I would add: apart from my wife's meal we ate everything, we were hungry and it was our first meal since breakfast. Yes I did complain at the time and whilst my wife left more than half her food nobody cared to ask why! When handed the card machine I was required to add a tip ( don't you hate that?) I did not as the service was diabolical. If she does respond she might wish to say sorry for spoiling our evening.

Just how the worst (un)Italian restaurant I can remember eating in can be number 2 in a town beggars belief. I would urge the owners to shut down for the winter and go to Italy to see what Italian food is really like.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
This is not normal feedback for us to receive. Typically we receive good, fair comments on both our service and food. I am astounded that you feel you did not have the exceptional experience that we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's Ristorante also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing