We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious & fresh food with charm”
Review of Valentino's Ristorante - CLOSED

Valentino's Ristorante
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open Daily at 5pm. Romantic, relaxing and late night dining.Chef's table available for groups of 4 or more. Garden Patio seating overlooking the beautiful Mahone Bay waterfront. Catering services offered for special functions on site or off. Reservations are appreciated.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious & fresh food with charm”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Valentino is an inspired chef who uses fresh ingredients in an updated and authentic Italian restaurant. Ask for the grilled vegetables--tremendous!
The summer outdoor seating is especially beautiful. And they never rush you through your dinner. You can linger as long as you wish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Ciao -(Hi) Susan & Jim it was such a pleasure meeting you both & We are thrilled you enjoyed Mahone Bay & our restaurant . I will pass your kind words along to Val . We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip Fino a quando ci siamo incontrati di nuovo or until we met again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    27
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N.S.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Date night”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We headed down to Mahone bay last Friday night looking forward to an evening of fine dining after hearing so much about this little Italian restaurant, it was a wonderful evening we started with a glass of fine wine and moved on to this fabulous home made baguette they brought out it just melted in your mouth.Our hostess Joanne came out and went over the menu and the specialty meals Chef Valentino was preparing for the evening it was hard to decide as the aroma of the meals being served were so amazing. We started with the mussels in a marinara sauce ...so yummy we continued on with lasagna and penne with hot Italian sausage served with garlic bread.
Date night was spent at the perfect location if you can't be in Italy,the only thing missing was the lemon chello!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugN_s_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Let me first say thank you to your friend that recommend you dine at our restaurant, we truly appreciate it. Val & I are so happy that you enjoyed your date night as you put it -" at the perfect location" - We truly try our best to give each and every person the feeling of being in Italy.
Again Mote Grazie Bella - Fino alla prossima volta or Many thanks Jackie -Until next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly fabulous experience!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I wish I could transport this restaurant here so I could more often. The food was delightful and the atmosphere was perfect. Cozy and inviting for an unforgettable meal and experience. Knowledgeable polite staff and the chef came to chat at the table as well. I recommend everyone to enjoy the best food going by planning an evening at Valentino's in Mahone Bay. You will not regret it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetDugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and i do hope the next time you go out to dine that Valentino's will be your Number One Choice. Thank you for your kind words about our staff I will certainly pass them along. Val truly enjoys coming out to chat with all his guests so I will pass your words along to him also. Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great people!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We're locals from Wentzell's Lake, but have just found this jewel that was recommended by a friend.
Valentino's is very cute and welcoming; a great fit for Mahone Bay, and has a really nice atmosphere to spend an evening.
The staff are friendly and make you feel "at home", and special.
The anticipation of the food is rewarded with a great presentation as well as fabulous flavour.
We recommend the experience!
Way to go Val!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
What a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your evening & our restaurant . Thanks so much for mentioning our fantastic staff I will pass your comments on to them. Also please thank your friend that recommended us we truly appreciate it . looking forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Masterpiece for the Mouth!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Husband and I ate at Valentino's for our 26th anniversary.It was a wonderful experience! Joanne was our gracious server! She gives wonderful tips on what wines compliment the dishes and was such a delight! Now for the meal! Did I mention it was a Masterpiece? I had the salmon linguine with cucumber,orange and dill sauce-such a delicious blend of flavors! My Husband's steak was cooked to perfection! Desert was orange crepes for me and banana chocolate flambe for my Husband.A delectable end to a perfect meal!The restaurant itself has a beautiful garden are and is decorated tastefully.Our Chef:Valentino came and talked with us and we were treated not just as customers but as guests.The attention to detail in service and food was 6 Star!! One of the best food experiences we have had! What DaVinci is to art Valentino's is to food! Thank You so much Joanne & Valentino for a wonderful evening.We most certainly will dine here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are very happy you enjoyed your special evening and we are always thrilled when we exceed our guests expectations. We certainly strive to provide a great quality product by using fresh local fish & meats. I will pass your comment on to Val and I will take the liberty to thank you in advance from him We look forward to seeing you again soon. Molte Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's Ristorante also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing