We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super”
Review of Valentino's Ristorante - CLOSED

Valentino's Ristorante
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open Daily at 5pm. Romantic, relaxing and late night dining.Chef's table available for groups of 4 or more. Garden Patio seating overlooking the beautiful Mahone Bay waterfront. Catering services offered for special functions on site or off. Reservations are appreciated.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The setting and staff were very nice. The portions were more than adequate and was very tastey. The spinach manicotti and lasagna dishes was the best I had in the area. Even the icecream served for dessert was unique in its own way, it even tasted homemade. for agreat Italian meal and nice atmosphere , i would recomend this ristorante.

2  Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you and your son enjoyed your evening of dining with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have visited many wonderful restaurants around the world, but I have never been so compelled to recommend any of them on tripadvisor- until now! As soon as we were seated in Valentino's, we felt like we were transported back to a one of the family-run restaurants we had eaten at in Rome or Milan- the decor is homely and Joanne made us feel very welcome and at ease.
My husband had a pasta dish as an appetizer and we were impressed with the generous amount- none of the tiny portion sizes that seems to have become popular in many places. I had a smoked salmon and dill pasta entree which was fantastic, and the freshly baked garlic bread accompanying it was a nice touch. We were all full but couldn't resist the desserts on offer, and we were not disappointed. My husband, who is notoriously particular about his desserts, is still raving about the chocolate cheesecake. My mum and I had different crepes and both dishes were full of flavour. All plates licked clean!!
The service is great and Joanne was very attentive and fully explained everything at every step of the way. The pace is relaxed, enouraging you to enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company. After our meal we found ourselves being the last customers left, and Valentino and Joanne came out to join us at the table for some laughs. They are great hosts and seem to be born to run a restaurant- they are doing a fantastic job.
Overall, we found the whole experience very reminiscent of time spent in Italy, and the food is truly authentic. We look forward to coming back when we move to Mahone Bay soon. Thankyou both for a wonderful evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karlie683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Grazie, Grazie for your kind words and for sharing your experience with others. Val and I are looking forward to welcoming you both to town real soon. Please send our best wishes also to your mum
We are looking forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Everything was so fresh and delicious. Service was excellent. Best meal we've eaten on the south shore and by far the best meal out in years. We dine out a lot and definatley will be going back. They we're also very generous and accomodating which we very much appreciated!!!! Please do yourself a favor and try this wonderful resturant I'm sure you won't be disapointed :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CourtneyLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Molte Grazie - Many thanks for your review. It was very nice meeting you & your wife . We look forward to seeing you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mahone Bay is definitely a "summer" location. In the summertime the restaurants all open and there are tourists and everything is buzzing. In the winter almost everything is closed although some things do open on the weekends in the winter. We phoned for a reservation on Thursday night cold bleak and stormy night We were greeted at the door by the owner and sat at "the Captains table". We came to find that we were the only customers in the restaurant that night. So nice that the owners opened the restaurant just for us. We were so impressed by this as we wanted our brother in law who is of Italian descent to have an Italian dinner, We asked the cook (also the owner)to just make us whatever he wanted to serve. Dinner was fabulous everything was delicious and after we ate we were joined by the owners and had great conversations about Italy food and whatever came into our heads (after some fab wine!)...It was like being at a private party and being treated "special". I highly recommend this little restaurant. Great food and very gracious hosts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anonymous190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. Val had so much fun preparing your special meal and we sure enjoyed chatting & laughing with you also. We are glad you arrived home safe and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Nova Scotia. -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited recently with some friends and overall we had a good meal. The service was slow. The restaurant was not busy but it still took an hour for the food to arrive. We were not offered any bread etc to keep us going until our entrees were served which we found unusual. In the meantime we sipped our expensive wine which we felt was overpriced. When the food arrived we were told to be careful as the plates were hot...mine was cold! We overall felt it had been worth the wait as the food was nicely presented and delicious. The pasta dish was particularly good as the pasta was homemade.The desserts were also good...but couldn't get a cappucino!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allicat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne a, Manager at Valentino's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your evening with others.
Grazie Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's Ristorante also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing