We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Order the lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valentino's Ristorante - CLOSED

Valentino's Ristorante
Price range: $12 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open Daily at 5pm. Romantic, relaxing and late night dining.Chef's table available for groups of 4 or more. Garden Patio seating overlooking the beautiful Mahone Bay waterfront. Catering services offered for special functions on site or off. Reservations are appreciated.
Port Elgin, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Order the lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Quaint Italian restaurant, right in downtown Mahone Bay. Excellent chef....order the lobster!! It will be cracked in half and cooked in a light herb coating. The portabella mushrooms accompanying it, rival the lobster, seriously!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank smegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    27
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT UP TO EXPECTATIONS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went to Valentinos for our 25 anniversary and was disapointed.The service was slow,no bread
on the table or served.For dinner my wife had smoked salmon fettucini and i had bacalao.My
wife`s meal was very good,mine was far from good.The potatoes were hard and it wasn`t salt
cod,also had bruschetta which was very bland.Told the cod was imported from Rome and
wondered why when we have the best cod in the world,also the bacalao was bland.The only
thing good was the moretti beer,would not go back again for the prices they charge.Just so you
know my mother in law is from Abruzzo Italy and her bacalao is amazing as well as her fettucini.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ANTHONY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Classy comfortable place with real Italian flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Joanne's gentle, informed service added hugely to my first luncheon visit. Featured white and red wines to begin were delicious and allowing us to share a starter salad was so appreciated. The entrees of home made pizza (please cook just a few minutes more) and seafood pasta were great. Oh, and the soft Italian music was the perfect accompaniment.
Perfect place to work with a new client while enjoying a relaxing luncheon. Tables, chairs and decor are simple and well spaced so we felt quite at ease discussing our business.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodFood&Drink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good, we had to go back for a second time - in one week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

From the moment we entered the restaurant until we left, we were made to feel like Family, and were treated like Royalty. We have eaten at many Italian restaurants in North America and can say without a doubt that Valentino's is absolutely beautiful - the food and its people! The lobster was perfect, the Chef's Inspiration Salad was "to die for", and the service ... priceless! During our stay in Mahone Bay, we recommended Valentino's to other guests of our B&B, and we will continue to recommend Valentino's to everyone we meet who may be visiting Nova Scotia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 25yrsoftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasurable Italian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Joanne and Valentino offer you a warm welcome, genuine Italian dishes from Valentino's Italian birthplace, and luscious Italian songs playing softly in the background. The ambiance, dinner and service combined make this a place to come back to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's Ristorante also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing