We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly place and top location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for three nights and thourougly enjoyed the experience. Greg is a friendly, knowledgeable host and is happy to drop you off in Lunenburg for a day. Its easy to make your way back (7 km walk). The private room had room enough for my stuff and came with a private entrance. Location in between Mahone Bay and Lunenburg and around the corner of the small beach at Maders Cove.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchLassie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at Kip & Kaboodle for one night and then ended up coming back the following week for five nights! It is a great small and friendly hostel about 40 mins walk from Mahone Bay. Greg and Trudi are excellent and really help you out with advice on places to go and lifts to town and to get groceries. Bikes available to rent means getting to Mahone Bay or Lunenburg is easy. The area is beautiful and a great place to chill out and relax.

Room Tip: Dorms and private rooms are both good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beznee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Clean, friendly & fantastic atmosphere. Free lifts to town, lobster boil, WIFI, and trip advice! Greg was the best and had so many tips of where to go and things to see while we were there. It's just so chilled and relaxed, with an awesome group of people staying there. We stayed an extra two nights, and are going back again before we leave Nova Scotia!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Mahone bay is absolutely beautiful and just down the road. The hostel is really cosy and laid back and the owner is really friendly. He does a lot of tours so he managed to pick me up and drop
me off in Halifax. It's a relatively easy cycle to lunenberg, whichbis lovely as well but totally worth the hike to see the blue nose 2 under construction.
In short, it is fabulous and I could have spent all summer there.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clepora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I started my first trip east at the Kip and Kaboodle and absolutely LOVED it...Located just outside beautiful Mahone Bay and Lunenburg, it was the perfect place to stay, and be away from the city. Peaceful and serenic doesn't do it justice to describe it. Greg and Trudi were fantastic hosts, (I picked up a fresh lobster in Lunenburg, and Greg cooked it for me...wonderful....caught a ride into Lunenburg with Trudi and recieved a great breakfast reccomendation... I will definitly be back...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliedickison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Kip & Kaboodle is a beautiful hostel just outside of Mahone Bay.
Incredibly peaceful and beautiful - this place is the perfect place to stay if you want to hike & bike in the neighbourhood, and are on a limited budget.

There a bikes for hire at very friendly prices - and with those you can easily bike to Mahone Bay or Lunenburg.

The owner is friendly guy, with lots of local knowledge he is more than willing to share with you. I arrived late and he gave me a lift to the local supermarket to get some groceries.

The hostel itself is well equiped with a kitchen, fridge, communal area and two nice bathrooms.

During my stay I was the only one at the hostel - which basically made it my private hostel. It amazed that a place at such a beautiful location could be so quiet in the middle of June. It deserves to be visited by more people.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulVman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The owner of the hostel picked me up in Halifax and took me back, dropped me off in Lunenburg, toured me around Mahone Bay. So can't fault the place for friendliness and helpfulness! The owner is like an encyclopaedia of this part of Nova Scotia. Hostel rooms absolutely fine and price very good. The hostel is near hiking trails and beaches too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moriarty48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahone Bay hotels
1.9 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairmont House Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel

Address: 9466 Highway 3 | Rr1, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mahone Bay
Price Range: $7 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hostel in quiet country setting 3km from Mahone Bay, 7km from Lunenburg and only one hour from the bustle of Halifax. Full kitchen, barbecue, lobster boils arranged by request. Price includes fully-made bed, towel & make-your-own pancakes & maple syrup for breakfast! If you like meeting great people, relaxing around the campfire under a million billion stars then our hostel is for you. Bring an instrument! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing