We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never wanted to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel
2 reviews
“Never wanted to leave”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Mahone bay is absolutely beautiful and just down the road. The hostel is really cosy and laid back and the owner is really friendly. He does a lot of tours so he managed to pick me up and drop
me off in Halifax. It's a relatively easy cycle to lunenberg, whichbis lovely as well but totally worth the hike to see the blue nose 2 under construction.
In short, it is fabulous and I could have spent all summer there.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clepora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I started my first trip east at the Kip and Kaboodle and absolutely LOVED it...Located just outside beautiful Mahone Bay and Lunenburg, it was the perfect place to stay, and be away from the city. Peaceful and serenic doesn't do it justice to describe it. Greg and Trudi were fantastic hosts, (I picked up a fresh lobster in Lunenburg, and Greg cooked it for me...wonderful....caught a ride into Lunenburg with Trudi and recieved a great breakfast reccomendation... I will definitly be back...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliedickison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Kip & Kaboodle is a beautiful hostel just outside of Mahone Bay.
Incredibly peaceful and beautiful - this place is the perfect place to stay if you want to hike & bike in the neighbourhood, and are on a limited budget.

There a bikes for hire at very friendly prices - and with those you can easily bike to Mahone Bay or Lunenburg.

The owner is friendly guy, with lots of local knowledge he is more than willing to share with you. I arrived late and he gave me a lift to the local supermarket to get some groceries.

The hostel itself is well equiped with a kitchen, fridge, communal area and two nice bathrooms.

During my stay I was the only one at the hostel - which basically made it my private hostel. It amazed that a place at such a beautiful location could be so quiet in the middle of June. It deserves to be visited by more people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulVman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The owner of the hostel picked me up in Halifax and took me back, dropped me off in Lunenburg, toured me around Mahone Bay. So can't fault the place for friendliness and helpfulness! The owner is like an encyclopaedia of this part of Nova Scotia. Hostel rooms absolutely fine and price very good. The hostel is near hiking trails and beaches too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moriarty48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We had bikes, and this is a great area for biking. Mahone Bay is an easy walk away, Lunenburg is a bit longer (7km), but Trudi & Greg offer a free shuttle in the morning. It's really quiet with plenty of room inside and out, plus they have basketball, soccer, volleyball, etc. with a huge yard to play in. Greg is also a tour guide, and so he is a fantastic (free) source of information for ideas and essential sites to see for the whole of Nova Scotia. There are 3 beaches in the area, and we visited all three. Plus kayak rentals, bike rentals (if you need it), hiking trails all nearby. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
4.5 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
#4 of 5 in Bridgewater
80 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lighthouse Motel
Lighthouse Motel
#2 of 5 in Bridgewater
99 reviews
6.6 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel

Property: Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel
Address: 9466 Highway 3 | Rr1, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hostel in quiet country setting 3km from Mahone Bay, 7km from Lunenburg and only one hour from the bustle of Halifax. Full kitchen, barbecue, lobster boils arranged by request. Price includes fully-made bed, towel & make-your-own pancakes & maple syrup for breakfast! If you like meeting great people, relaxing around the campfire under a million billion stars then our hostel is for you. Bring an instrument! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kip & Kaboodle Backpacker Hostel Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing