We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunches in Mahone Bay”

Jo-Ann's Deli Market & Bake Shop
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Mahone Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
Description: Since 1986 we have delighted in providing delicious gourmet food to both residents and visitors to Mahone Bay. What started as a simple fruit stand has grown into a market, gourmet deli, bake shop, cafe, jammery and ice cream parlor.
Restaurant details
Description: Since 1986 we have delighted in providing delicious gourmet food to both residents and visitors to Mahone Bay. What started as a simple fruit stand has grown into a market, gourmet deli, bake shop, cafe, jammery and ice cream parlor.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best lunches in Mahone Bay”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The outdoor seating is limited but the freshly made sandwiches are to die for.
The only thing i can say in a negative comment is that it is sometime so busy that there is a wait for your lunch

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    58
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My home away from home”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Jo-Ann's Deli is my main stay when staying on the south shore- i fell upon ,Jo-Ann's nearly 17 years ago and have been going back ever since.
This summer I was there nearly every day, best fish chowder,on the southshore, pies and jams excellent,pates and breads super , oh the icecream and fudge beyond good!
|Wish I could have the produce shipped to Ottawa>

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hariot08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything looks good!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I can only speak of the desserts and coffee but there is nothing I would hesitate to recommend. I had the pumpkin cheesecake and coffee, and it was fantastic.
If you don't like sitting outside in a covered area with very casual surroundings you might not like it though. Personally I love this shop.

Helpful?
Thank bda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on the way through-delicious-wish I had found this place months ago! The spinach and pesto twist was awesome and for dessert-butter tart-a must stop for lunch on the go!

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, NB
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great deli and relaxing spot in the "heart" of Mahone Bay”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our fourth visit back to Jo-Ann's and we try something different each time leaving us wanting more. What a gem for the residents around the area. Colors, smells, friendly service, eye catching displays, whimiscal front entrance doors in summer and the hundreds of natural ingredients always give me the feeling I have just hit the jackpot. I certainly envy the locals for having what I have to leave behind. Until next time......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WardDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo-Ann's Deli Market & Bake Shop also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Jo-Ann's Deli Market & Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing