We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Afternoon Lunch”
Review of Mateus Bistro

Mateus Bistro
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Mahone Bay
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: NEW OWNER WAS CHEESECAKE GALLERY
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mid Afternoon Lunch”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a terrific lunch at Mateus Bistro today and we had an equally wonderful lunch a couple of months ago. Excellent and friendly service as only Nova Scotians can dish out. Loved it.

On a Monday the Bistro was lively and happily nearly full with patrons enjoying a stormy day inside.

The owner/chef Matt came out for a chat and we were able to thank him for his handywork - I had the smoked chicken risotto with a crisp salad on the side, beautiful pino wine, a 10 year old Port and a chocolate confection for dessert. My husband had a beautiful fish chowder with a couple of pieces of baguette on the side and an amazing peach tart with cream - omg.

The cost is modest and the food is grassroots and elegant all at the same turn.

The Bistro is in a lovely old building that is cozy and well appointed. Mahone Bay is lucky to have such a great local restaurant serving food with such care and commitment to excellence.

You will enjoy this place. You won't have any regrets eating here. A big thank you to fine experience in the lovely Mahone Bay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanticbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    61
    25
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“A Must Try”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Food and atmosphere so wonderful... We eat there monthly and truly enjoy the changes in menu with the season. There is nothing like eating healthy,locally grown food when possible.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RagdollKelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our family went to Mateus to celebrate a birthday. There were 5 adults, the majority of who are vegetarian. When booking our reservations we specifically asked about vegetarian options and were assured that the chef would work with us to modify whatever dishes we wanted. We arrived and while our server was very friendly and tried to be helpful, they only had one vegetarian option and were not able/willing to modify anything else on the menu. Four out of the five of us ended up with the same dish, a portobello mushroom dish. While this dish was fairly good, we felt that we were misled when booking the reservation and wished that they would have been upfront about this ability to accommodate our dietary needs.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having no information about this spot in advance, we were seated in a charming renovated older home/building on Mahone Bay's main street. Our waitress was pleasant and knowledgeable as she told us the specials of the day and answered a few questions for us.

The potato/leek soup of the day was tasty & hot, while John's lobster cakes were tasty but small. My haddock entree was perfect, as was John's pork chop special - huge & smothered with a cranberry apple glaze. John's eyes rolled as he ate his pumpkin cheescake and my three cheese plate did not disappoint. We chose an organic wine to complement our meal from a varied wine list.

All in all, we will return to Mateus Bistro when we are again in the area and are spreading the good word to all who will listen. A great meal!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food,great presentation and as always great staff”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The new owners have accomplished a new feeling at this restaurant,one of I want to come back each time you leave having a wonderful meal. We love the menu and without a question love the ambiance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mateus Bistro also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Mateus Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing