We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT HOSTS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“PERFECT HOSTS”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Denise and John were the best hosts - they were very hospitable and made us feel very welcome. Offers of tea and cold drinks in the afternoon were a nice extra touch. And John carrying our suitcase to our room. Room was very comfortable even though modest in appointments and the bathroom was spacious. The whole house was truly spotless - they keep the home looking like everything was brand new. Breakfast was pleasant and they kindly catered to my food allergy. Great hosts and we would highly recommend this B & B which is well located in Mahone Bay which is a beautiful spot.
Thanks, John and Denise for adding special touches to our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location - short stroll from town. Lovely home and view from front porch. We had the Bay room which was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was in the hall but bathrobes were provided and the bathroom itself was very clean and large. Breakfast was plentiful. John and Denise, the hosts, were very friendly and helpful. They really made our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totravelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night here after cycling from Bridgewater. Beautiful location, short walk to the main restaurants and shopping.

The hosts, Denise and John, were awesome! They had a great sense of humour, they were friendly, and they were very helpful.

Breakfast was delicious! Yogurt and fresh fruit with croissants and a variety of local jams. Then eggs, bacon and toast -all cooked to perfection.

The room was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable, bathroom (although separated) was also clean and nice.

This is a beautiful place and an exceptional Bed & Breakfast I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our two nights at Heart's Desire with John and Denise our hosts was all that we could wish for. Early coffee and tea served on the upper guest lounge before breakfast was such a great treat. Breakfasts were delicious,beautifully cooked and well presented, they had thought of everything. John was ever helpful offering afternoon tea or coffee after a day out also in the evenings. Heart's Desire was in a lovely position overlooking Mahone Bay and a very short walk into the village. John and Denise were really good hosts and good fun. I would truly recommend Heart's Desire

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a gem! Friendly, clean, excellent breakfast and friendly hosts. Coffee arrives miraculously at the right time in the morning. The bathroom was delightful. WiFi worked. Comfy bed. Good value and Mahone Bay is so, so beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had a lovely stay with Denise and John, they truly make great hosts! Nice touch bringing up the morning coffee before breakfast, thanks John. Breakfast consisted of yogurt, fruit salad and croissants followed by eggs, bacon and toast, it was all wonderful - I just hope my husband doesn't expect this at home. If we don't become neighbors, we'll be back for a visit. Although a short visit everything was perfect and oh my what a view from the front veranda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our weekend at Heart’s Desire was both relaxing and fun. Although this is a relatively new venture for Denise and John, they knew exactly how to make us feel at home.
On our arrival, John welcomed us warmly, insisted on carrying our luggage upstairs for us and offered us afternoon tea. Later on, Denise introduced me to a Wasgij puzzle - Thanks! I’m a big fan, now! - and John showed me a children’s book which mentions their historic home.
Although we had not seen the latest photos at the time of booking, we requested the Queen Room, with the newly added en suite shower. The new bathroom was fantastic! Although small, it was functional, clean and came with toiletries.
Our room did not have a view of the bay, but the chairs on the front verandah provide the ideal spot for boat watching. The marina is directly opposite and the township is an easy stroll away, which means you don’t need your car any time you want to have a meal or wander around the fascinating shops.
John delivers an early morning cup of tea or coffee to the upstairs guest lounge, which also has views of the bay. The delicious and varied breakfasts are certainly enough to set you up for the day.
Mahone Bay is the perfect spot from which to explore the south of Nova Scotia and we can recommend Heart’s Desire as the perfect B and B to use as your base. Try it! You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
5.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairmont House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Address: 686 Main St | P.O. Box 470, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic four square house built in the early 1900s overlooking beautiful Mahone Bay. Located steps away from the delightful shops, restaurants and cafes of Mahone Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart's Desire Bed And Breakfast Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing