We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place for a relaxing vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fisherman's Daughter
Ranked #1 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place for a relaxing vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Fisherman's Daughter for a week during our first vacation to Nova Scotia. Our experience was amazing! We loved the beautiful room we stayed in (McNab's Garden), so clean, bright and wonderfully decorated, it also offered stunning views of the Bay right outside our window. Melanie and Will (and their dog, Max!) have created a relaxed atmosphere that makes you feel right at home from the very moment you check in. Breakfasts are delicious and very accommodating to any special requests or allergies (not to mention the scrumptious homemade baked goods that Melanie whips up almost daily)! This gorgeous home is full of history and located just around the corner from Mahone Bay's attractions, shops and restaurants. At the same time being privately nestled between two lovely churches provides a calming sense of tranquility. We were able to see lots of the area's hidden gems as the innkeepers were very informative of local sights that tourists may not be aware of. I would recommend this B&B to any couple or family, A+ for the Fisherman's Daughter!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and full of charming decorations and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
81
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Melanie and Wil have created a wonderful B&B in lovely Mahone Bay. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. The restored property is interesting and comfortable. We also enjoyed the tasty breakfast which was served. A friendly and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermuda
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Mel and Will simply know what they are doing and are able to create a home atmosphere at Fisherman's Daughter without apparent effort (except we all know how much work a B&B is).

The accommodations are comfortable and clean and the breakfast is excellent and large. Will and Mel work in the kitchen adjoining the dining room and so are interacting with their guests and making them feel welcomed. They are worldly and well traveled folks who related to all kinds and all types. They more than give value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kentstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this historic home for two nights and can't say enough about the beautifully decorated and immaculate room, the friendly hosts, and lovely breakfasts. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters which was on the first floor and had an large en suite bathroom (complete with large glass shower and claw foot tub). We enjoyed sitting on the front lawn overlooking Mahone Bay. The inn was within easy walking distance of the picturesque town that had nice shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend Fisherman's Daughter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This small B & B located in beautiful Mahone Bay was one of the friendliest B & B's my husband and I have stayed at. We were welcomed to our room and found many extra touches that made us feel special. The breakfast cooked by Willem was great! We would highly recommend this B & B!

Room Tip: Loved the main floor room with the claw foot tub and rainfall shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Will and Melanie were tremendously hospitable innkeepers. We enjoyed every single minute of our stay at their delightful, tastefully-furnished property. The breakfast was excellent; the bed was even better! If you are looking for a short-term respite from a busy life, this is the place to go. We will be back.

Room Tip: We imagine at this property there are only good rooms. No need to worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were greeted by innkeepers, Will and Melanie and immediately were made to feel welcome. We stayed in an amazing room that included an onsuite, which was the deciding factor to go to the B&B initially. We were awed by the history of the house and how so many of the historical features of the home were still intact. The breakfast was wonderful and the choice of three different breakfast items satisfied everyone in our group. The inn was in walking distance to the community, so we were able to park the car and walk around to see the sights. The inn was quiet and clean. We felt that the cost of the B&B, that included a full breakfast, was more than comparable with other lodgings and we would certainly return to this B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
6.3 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Daughter

Property: Fisherman's Daughter
Address: 97 Edgewater Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fisherman's Daughter 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the warm simplicity of a shipwright's heritage home, tucked in between the famous three churches and overlooking Mahone Bay, Have a great sleep in one of four well appointed, en-suite bedrooms. After a healthy breakfast, relax in our garden or take a stroll into town. This is the perfect location from which to explore Nova Scotia's diversified breath-taking South Shore. 45 Mins to Halifax, 40 mins to Peggy's Cove and 15 mins to Lunenburg. Sugar and/or gluten free on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fisherman's Daughter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Daughter Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing