We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fisherman's Daughter
Ranked #1 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were delighted by the accommodation at this bed and breakfast. The room and en suite bathroom were immaculately clean, as was the rest of the house, with tasteful and charming furnishings and decor. The breakfast menu featured delicious seasonal items, and the hosts graciously accommodated my daughter's request for vegan options.

I would heartily recommend this B&B to anyone vacationing in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delphictrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
96
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was by far the most majestic and lovely home I have had the pleasure to stay in. The hosts, Will, Mel, and Max (dog), do an amazing job at making you feel welcome and at home. Incredible breakfast, wonderful accommodations, and the most outstanding view from the from patio. I have already told all of my friends and family members about this gorgeous B&B and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Mahone Bay. It is located right between two beautiful churches and placed right in front of the bay. If you are looking for a B&B with a great view and even better accommodations call Will or Mel and book a room. 2 thumbs up.

Room Tip: Captains room is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Beautiful place with awesome down to earth innkeepers.

This place is a must stay nestled in one the most serene areas of Nova Scotia that I experienced. Breakfast was superb, the home was comfy, beautifully decorated, and the view was idyllic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunnyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melwill84, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
thanks HoneyBunny! Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

From the very start........it was a cut above all the B&B's that we have been to. Melanie and Will have redone this gorgeous old home to the level of a top level hotel. The breakfast is the best and the warm atmosphere is truly not to be missed. Probably the prettiest village in Nova Scotia! with the best accommodations, food, and Innkeepers in this gorgeous part of Canada!!
Don't miss it! We have been to a lot of Inns This is at the Top!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melwill84, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks Harvey and Vicky, loved having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was my favorite B&B!( We were traveling for 11 days and spent time in 5 B&B's.)I would live here if they would allow me!!! Mel and Willhem are the best!!!! They are helpful, social, ( but give you 'space' ), funny, and entertaining....and much more... I am coming back in the near future... LOVED......IT!!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melwill84, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks Eleanor, you seriously rock!!!Come on back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Fisherman's Daughter on August 6th.
We were welcomed by Mel and Will our hosts and shown to our beautifully decorated room with a wonderful view of Mahone Bay.
Mel and Bill recommended a great pub for dinner (Mug and Anchor). We had dinner on the deck overlooking the bay.
We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary sherry and cookies in the evening while sitting on the front lawn watching the sun set.
The breakfast next morning was truly five star!
We had forgotten a camera cable in our room and Will called to let us know.
Mel and Wil went above and beyond to make our stay truly memorable.
We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nery25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melwill84, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you. You can come back and watch soccer with us anytime!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed at Fisherman's Daughter for four nights. The house was lovely and the breakfasts great (especially the pancakes). There is an amazing view of the bay from the B & B. Will and Melanie were great hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melwill84, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks man, please bring Ratty back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
6.3 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
259 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Daughter

Property: Fisherman's Daughter
Address: 97 Edgewater Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fisherman's Daughter 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the warm simplicity of a shipwright's heritage home, tucked in between the famous three churches and overlooking Mahone Bay, Have a great sleep in one of four well appointed, en-suite bedrooms. After a healthy breakfast, relax in our garden or take a stroll into town. This is the perfect location from which to explore Nova Scotia's diversified breath-taking South Shore. 45 Mins to Halifax, 40 mins to Peggy's Cove and 15 mins to Lunenburg. Sugar and/or gluten free on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fisherman's Daughter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Daughter Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing