We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION”
Review of Gazebo Cafe - CLOSED

Gazebo Cafe
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“LOCATION”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We dined at this restaurant on a Sunday evening. We have nothing against religion but the hymn sing being held in the adjoining gazebo was so loud that we couldn't even hear each other speaking. As it was a very warm evening, the option of moving inside to a non-air conditioned environment was not an option. There is one table by the front door (adjacent to the main street with lots of traffic). One couple did move of the balcony overlooking the bay to the street side table. Food was OK but nothing to get overly excited about.
Highly recommend NOT dining here on a Sunday evening unless you want to feel like you are dining in a church.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    9
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great outside dining!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had lunch twice on their balcony overlooking Mahone Bay. Great food and service. The lobster rolls are the best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Sorry - that was a bad experience.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Despite a good review in our guidebook, I can't say anything good about my lunch, but mostly because the service was so poor. I had to ask for a glass of water 3 times, and even after the third try it took about 10 more minutes.

The hummus was ordinary, but the pita bread that came with terrible. Had to come from a package. The smoothie was OK. They said it had several fruits, but I doubt it. The pie was better - good crust and nice fruit.

Overall, just not a place I would ever recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the seafood chowder, a large bowl for $10, including bread. For dessert we split the pecan chocolate pie with ice cream for $6. Coffee was $2.50, more for espresso etc. smoothies were $5. We found the food tasty , well prepared. And the service was quick and attentive.You can order a half sandwich with salad or chowder and there were daily specials for around $13. No complaints here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
477 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“It was just "OK". A 3.5/5 but nothing special”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was right next to a flea market they run out of the parking lot of a supermarket.

We sat outside - the prices are a bit steep for a sandwich, no sides or half a sandwich and a bowl of soup. The portions were a bit small. The food came fairly quickly but I had to wait +++ for the bill. Eventually, I went inside to pay. The food was nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazebo Cafe also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing