We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bookstore and coffee shop”

The Biscuit Eater Cafe & Books
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Mahone Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Biscuit Eater is a friendly community cafe and bookstore serving homemade, handmade goodness in Mahone Bay's oldest building. Fresh baked buttermilk biscuits, locally roasted coffee, stacks of cookies and baked treats, delicious soups, sandwiches and daily specials are all made with care daily by new owners Jessika and Chris and our talented chef Laurie Zwicker. Take a seat by the hearth in a cozy chair, have lunch in the library, grab a snack to go, or visit with old and new friends in the common room - here the warmth of community is alive, well, and waiting to welcome you. We are accessible, family friendly, inclusive and open to all our neighbours from our oldest customer (98!) to biscuit babies. Our new winter hours are Monday - Saturday from 9-4, keep your eye on our Facebook page for evening events, markets, and workshops. We are also available to host your special events, weddings, and creative retreats, contact us with your ideas and collaborations!
1 review
“Great bookstore and coffee shop”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Biscuit Easter Cafe is a wonderful departure from the other stores selling tourist items. The coffee is good and the cafe offers a small selection of new and used books. Book lovers will enjoy the atmosphere. It is a little off the main shopping street.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBiscuitEater, Manager at The Biscuit Eater Cafe & Books, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Michael,
Thanks for stopping by The B.E. and checking out the books section! We try to offer an interesting, eclectic selection and are glad that you appreciated them. Happy reading!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    42
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Healthy, tasty food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place is awesome. The owners are lovely people and the food they prepare is fresh and delicious. Many of their ingredient are sourced from local farmers. In addition to their great food, they have a great selection of books (new and used) to browse through while you're there.

Allow yourself some time to wait for the food to arrive. With patience, there is a satisfying payoff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnDSAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBiscuitEater, Manager at The Biscuit Eater Cafe & Books, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi John, and fellow Mahone Bay-er! Thanks for coming in regularly - we really appreciate the local support! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food friendly staff and nice location.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My first trip to Mahone Bay and what a beautiful restaurant. The hot chocolate and quiche where both delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murcward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBiscuitEater, Manager at The Biscuit Eater Cafe & Books, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Murray,
Yes, Deb's hot chocolate with the mounds of whipped cream is a local fave! Glad that you came by and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The best hot chocolate and quiche in a beautiful off the beaten path setting. Worth it for the hot chocolate even in mid August.

Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

What a lovely place to sit and read a book! This hidden gem in Mahone Bay boasts delicious food and baking and lovely staff. I went back twice while I was exploring Mahone Bay. Their burger was delicious with delicious potato wedges and their carrot cake was moist with coconut and a fantastic lemon frosting. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TroggleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBiscuitEater, Manager at The Biscuit Eater Cafe & Books, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Greetings TroggleD from Saskatchewan! We hope that the rest of your trip went well, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Biscuit Eater Cafe & Books also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Biscuit Eater Cafe & Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing