We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm shocked at the other reviews of this motel.”
Review of Allen's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kentville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allen's Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kentville
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was one of the most disgusting places I have ever stayed. We had 4 rooms in our group at the motel and the 3 that were in the old building smelled awful. As soon as you enter the room there was an overpowering odour. I couldn't find any source for this awful smell. All three rooms had their own unique and awful smell. The smell stayed on our clothing after we left the motel.The AC unit was broken or disconnected so that we couldn't use the fan to circulate the air and try to remove the smell.

The luggage stand had mould growing on it which you can see in the picture. The bathroom wasn't too bad, typical sandpaper like towels. The front office/breakfast are looked filthy, cat hair and dirt everywhere. I'm not sure if they have ever swept in the office. I wasn't going to eat anything that was prepared in that building.

Room Tip: Get one in the new part of the building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason9945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allensmotel, Owner at Allen's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

We are very sorry your stay with us was such an unpleasant experience. It is most unfortunate you encountered an odour in the rooms, something no-one else in your group ever brought to our attention but something which has since been investigated. We did move you from the original unit you were assigned, at your request, to another room which you said was better and that was the last we heard of it. As of the middle of October, most people do not require A/C so we shut it down. However, if requested, it can be easily turned on as each room is individually wired. We would have been happy to do this had we been asked. As for the mould on the luggage rack, this was a first for us and has been addressed. Thankyou for bringing it to our attention. Towels are replaced regularly and when washed, a non-scented fabric softener is used. We do not enter a room when the "Do Not Disturb" sign is displayed, so we did not get a chance to exchange your towels for the three days you were here. The "building" to which you referred is our home which houses both the office and dining room. As they are carpeted, both are vacuumed daily, not swept. It is possible I had not had an opportunity to perform this task before the one short time you were actually in the office. Although we do have two cats, we do our best to make sure we keep the office, dining room and living room free from cat hairs.

During the more than 40 years our family has operated this small motel, we have strived to create a clean and comfortable environment for our guests, both new and returning. For the past 19 years,after taking over from elderly parents, we have been constantly renovating and upgrading, always with the comfort of our guests in mind. We do like hearing from the people who stay with us (whether with a criticism or complement) but if someone has a problem, we would appreciate being informed of this at the time so we can try to rectify it rather than learning about an incident two months later through the anonymity of social media.

Joan & Michael Coakley
Owners/Operators
Allen's Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Allen's Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were very impressed on how clean the rooms were. We were in a room upstairs. The owner was very nice, helpful. She serves breakfast for $3.50, which we didn't try. I would stay here again and recommend it to everyone.
A parking stall is assigned to each room, so you are parked close to your room.
It was a 20 minute drive to Hall's Harbour where the Bay of Fundy has it's 42 ft high and low tide, the boats are sitting on the ocean floor at low tide. A highlight you do not want to miss. (plus you can have lobster dinner there)

Room Tip: We liked our room upstairs, the stairs were well lit.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Quiet location. Well kept modern rooms and cottages. Kitchen was well stocked. Beds comfortable. Laundry on site is clean and all in working condition. Our cottage had a lovely private deck. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The cottage was great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RainbowTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in to our room at Allen's Motel. We just planned on a quick overnight stay in Kentville so weren't looking to book in anywhere overly expensive. Well this little motel was not only reasonably priced at $72.00 plus tax a night, it was also well looked after from the room to the grounds. We found a quiet spot surrounded by a few trees, bushes and a small garden pond where they have set up a small table and chairs for the guests. The owner was more than happy to let me borrow one of her own wine glasses, and my husband and I enjoyed a few drinks by the pond while playing cards. Although this is not a B&B, they do have an eating area inside their house/office where they offer a good homemade breakfast (bacon & eggs) for $3.50 per person. Don't hesitate to book in at this great little motel if you are looking for a place to stay in Kentville!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janajoseph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Super clean, quiet ,delicious breakfast and comfortable beds all for a great price. What more could you ask for ?
I liked the fact that the parking spots were marked for each room so we were not walking very far with our luggage.The owner was so friendly. I would recommend this motel to anyone travelling to this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThunderBayNortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stopped in this location even tho the sign said no vacancy, we had previous reservations at the Sun Valley Inn, upon arrival to our reservation they informed us they gave our rooms away due to the CC declining.. Of course, I was frustrated but not hostile or loud.. just disappointed. When I asked why she did not call me back right away for me to give her another card, the lady at the desk got angry and got her husband, her husband came out pointing his finger 2 inches from my face yelling! I have never been treated so horribly simply due to an error on her part. An apology would have given grace. So upon arrival at this location the lovely lady behind the desk, assisted me in finding us another location. Thank you once again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a small motel. The rooms are spotlessly clean. Beds are comfortable. This is a family run motel that offers the extras.
The owners are very nice and helpful. They offer a unique breakfast - a double yoked egg, poached on toast, with an extra piece of toast; home made jam; tea/coffee and juice for $3.50 tax included. in this day and age unbelieveable. Oh and its served on china in their dining room. Can't help but start the day with a smile.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 in back. It has its own little deck with chairs. When you sit out in the evenin...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentville
3.2 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
113 reviews
6.0 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
326 reviews
21.0 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingston
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
41 reviews
11.0 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
161 reviews
21.2 mi away
Super 8 Windsor NS
Super 8 Windsor NS
#1 of 2 in Windsor
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen's Motel

Address: 384 Park St, Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 1M9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kentville
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Allen`s Hotel Kentville
Allens Hotel Kentville
Allen's Motel Kentville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing