We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing house, you bet!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kentville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Kentville B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing house, you bet!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we arrived at night, the house was beautifully lit and looked very majestic on the hill. Although we arrived a bit later in the evening, it caused no trouble to the hostess and host. We were welcomed with a warm greeting and were offered help with our bags. The hostess was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and kept us going all day. The room was beautiful, comfortable and most of all exciting! With lots of treasures, it really took us back in time! It was two delightful and relaxing nights. And we would love to come back again! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal room, so we can definately suggest this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Briar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you want great breakfast, go to the Wickwire. The guy who makes it is awesome. I forgot his name, but we left the table full with whatever our heart desired. The rooms were clean, right in town, close to the highway and it was a lot better then staying in one of those impersonal motels. We enjoyed our stay and can only recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erynw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is an excellent b&b and very elegantly decorated. We had a large, clean, bright room. They served a scrumptous full breakfast along with the best coffee we had during our 4 week excursion of the maritimes. This is definitely a five star b&b with an great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Rooms downstairs and up we very cluttered and I am sure no one could have cleaned all those nick nacks . The fire alarm went of in our room 2 times because the door to the wash room was open and steam came into the bedroom. Breakfast was ok but we prefer coffee cream but it was milk. The other guests received vouchers for some drinks at the local restuarants but we didn't get those , plus I noticed on line after we got home there was a discount for seniors and we also didn't get that,. We would not be staying there again too cluttered for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a graet way to start the day-- good food -good company- very ecclectic surroundings- a lovely gazebo to sit and enjoy- thanks- we will be back

Room Tip: all the rooms are VERY large and are fully equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clementrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

By the photos on their website, I figured Wickwire would be a charming place to stay, with history tastefully showcased throughout the home. As it turned out, the decor was less elegant than I expected, and much too cluttered and thrown-together to be charming. There were a lot of curiosities around the house and in the room; some I'm sure were antiques, but others were simply dust-collectors (such as the bright pink flashlight displayed on the fireplace mantle).

I stayed in the Royal Oak room (which I believe was also referred to as the Scotia room by the host http://www.the-wickwire.ca/ww_home_2/ww_royaloak.htm). The bed was comfortable, but the room's cleanliness was hit and miss. I was confident the rugs were vacuumed and the sheets were clean, but the TV remote and alarm clock had not been wiped down in a while and there were hairs in the bathtub. (And I'm pretty sure those were spider webs I met with when reaching into the closet.) In-room coffee and tea consisted of a decaf coffee, and several teas and sugar packets from Fairmont hotels.

It was fine for one night, but I will book elsewhere if returning to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylerville, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

As said before, this is a gorgeous house packed full of eclectic nick-nacks from various corners of the globe. The host was very forward in trying to make us feel at home but came off as rather eccentric. Breakfast was average. Kentville is a rather small town without much to do in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babcoccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentville
1.5 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Street Inn
Grand Street Inn
#3 of 5 in Kentville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gaspereau Valley Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 183 Main St, Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kentville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian mansion with gazebo and large garden, near the Bay of Fundy and Acadia University. 12 foot ceilings and mahogany walls grace the 2 main floors which are furnished with period antiques. Centrally located in the Annapolis valley where fresh fruits abound as well as local farmers markets and fairs. Hike trails to the ocean, rock hound for fossils and Agates, or just sit and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast Kentville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing