We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sunny stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kentville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Kentville B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a graet way to start the day-- good food -good company- very ecclectic surroundings- a lovely gazebo to sit and enjoy- thanks- we will be back

Room Tip: all the rooms are VERY large and are fully equiped
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clementrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

By the photos on their website, I figured Wickwire would be a charming place to stay, with history tastefully showcased throughout the home. As it turned out, the decor was less elegant than I expected, and much too cluttered and thrown-together to be charming. There were a lot of curiosities around the house and in the room; some I'm sure were antiques, but others were simply dust-collectors (such as the bright pink flashlight displayed on the fireplace mantle).

I stayed in the Royal Oak room (which I believe was also referred to as the Scotia room by the host http://www.the-wickwire.ca/ww_home_2/ww_royaloak.htm). The bed was comfortable, but the room's cleanliness was hit and miss. I was confident the rugs were vacuumed and the sheets were clean, but the TV remote and alarm clock had not been wiped down in a while and there were hairs in the bathtub. (And I'm pretty sure those were spider webs I met with when reaching into the closet.) In-room coffee and tea consisted of a decaf coffee, and several teas and sugar packets from Fairmont hotels.

It was fine for one night, but I will book elsewhere if returning to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

As said before, this is a gorgeous house packed full of eclectic nick-nacks from various corners of the globe. The host was very forward in trying to make us feel at home but came off as rather eccentric. Breakfast was average. Kentville is a rather small town without much to do in town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babcoccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Upon arriving at Wickwire House, we immediately noticed the well-manicured lawns, well maintained home, and beautiful baskets of hanging flowers on the front veranda. We entered and were warmly greeted by Ghislaine, who gave us a tour of the house and showed us our room. Our room, which was huge, contained a king sized brass bed, and was well decorated with antique furniture and accessories. The room is equipped with a coffee maker and small T.V., and robes are provided. The entire home is decorated with antiques and interesting items, all of which you are welcome to view and/or use. It was a lovely evening when we were there, so my husband and I sat outside in the gazebo and enjoyed our surroundings. After a restful sleep, we were served a lovely breakfast in the dining room. We felt very comfortable at the Wickwire. The hosts are welcoming, the home is superbly maintained, and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: All three rooms are well decorated and maintained and each has it's own private bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MFCDBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great food. Lovely romantic, clean rooms. Cozy robes for lounging. A storytelling host and perfect location. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noanoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The dead plants on the front porch are a warning for what's to come. The host while genial was overly effusive. The rooms were spacious but dusty, musty smelling with worn, mismatched linens. The slippers for guest use were dirty; the robes were from goodwill. There's stuff everywhere!
The breakfast was of extremely poor quality; everything was overcooked and left to sit.
This is rated 4 stars and is at best a 2 star.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nelltill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This was a great little surprise in Kentville. We found it to be completely ready to make our stay enjoyable. The manager was full of stories and was very accommodating and helpful.
The B&B is easy to find, plenty of room for parking, and spacious. Apparently this building started life as a boarding house and it's pretty easy to see why. There are many rooms and facilities.
We only stayed one night at this place, but the room was large and comfortable, many furnishings and well decorated. The bathroom was huge. Breakfast was better than most restaurants and check-in and check-out was simple and effortless.
We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuckshutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentville
1.5 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
113 reviews
4.1 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Street Inn
Grand Street Inn
#4 of 5 in Kentville
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
41 reviews
4.6 mi away
Delft Haus
Delft Haus
#1 of 2 in Centreville
132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwire House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 183 Main St, Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kentville
Price Range: $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian mansion with gazebo and large garden, near the Bay of Fundy and Acadia University. 12 foot ceilings and mahogany walls grace the 2 main floors which are furnished with period antiques. Centrally located in the Annapolis valley where fresh fruits abound as well as local farmers markets and fairs. Hike trails to the ocean, rock hound for fossils and Agates, or just sit and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast Kentville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing