We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Iona Heights Inn
Nearby Hotels
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$101
Cambridge Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North(North Sydney)
$126
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clansman Motel(North Sydney)
$99
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
133
54
11
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
54
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighland villageliquor storethe pubcape bretonbras d'or lakean upper level roomceltic musiccable channelscabot trailsecond floor balconybeautiful viewsecond leveldeck overlookingvantage pointenjoy the scenerydelicious coffeewatch the sunrise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 203 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We came for a "Kitchen Party" event and weren't dissapointed! Rooms are basic but clean....(beds too hard). Beautiful view from balcony which all rooms have. Dining room is quaint and food is simplistic in nature and home cooked. I highly recommend the fish and chips. Owner is a Cape Bretoner and god love her.....she is right friendly and surely in the right business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wailinsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We recently stayed at the Highland Heights Inn for the weekend with a group of friends. The location and view are extraordinary. We ate four meals there and they were all great and reasonably priced. The owners and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The only drawback was that many rooms had a minifridge, but ours did not. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank catiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed with an extended family as group gathering and were very impressed with the hospitality and site. The view is spectacular being much like on a hill in the Highlands of Scotland, with lakes and rolling hills. We had stayed here as a family gathering in years past. We liked it then and like it better now. Staff and managers made us feel very much at home and were very accomodating to our group needs. The food was great and live entertainment by two members of the "Men fo the Deeps" was "icing on the cake". We thought we had a great rate of $109. but were pleasantly surpised to find that it dropped to $90. when we checked in.
The facility is not a new one and is not ultra-modern, but as an Inn, it has a lot going for it. We booked our rooms for next year and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMN095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The hotel adjoins the Highland Village attraction in Iona. It does have a wonderful view of the Bras D Or lake across the street which is the strong point. There is also a restaurant on site. The hotel does provide functionality if you only seek a place to rest your head. The rooms however are old and cry out for remodeling. They appear clean, but its hard to verify as the rooms are incredibly dark. The interior room lighting is almost non existent. We also found ourselves assigned a room with one double bed, when we had booked the room months in advance. Bottom line - seek other alternatives.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derrick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We visited the Inn at the end of a quick trip to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. The inn keepers, Marie and Keith greeted us with warmth and hospitality. Our room was beautifully decorated and the dinner and breakfast were the best we had on the trip. The location is within walking distance to the Highland Village and a scenic under an hour drive to busy Baddeck. If you like a motel with fantastic lake views from every room, great food in a well decorated dining room, extraordinary hospitality, and absolute quiet with no road noise for sleeping, this is the place for you. Rates and meals were a great vale, too. We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patch-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews