We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and fun”
Review of Highland Village

Highland Village
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Iona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the lifestyle of the Scots in Nova Scotia at the Village's Outdoor Pioneer Museum or look up your Cape Breton roots at the Genealogy and Family History Centre. The Highland Village is situated on a beautiful site overlooking the Bras d'Or Lakes and is open from May to mid October.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was a wonderful adventure with my children. It was hands on, educational, and fun all at once. Our family loved it.

Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thanks for visiting with us and taking the time to write these comments."Historical" and "Fun" are two great words to use to describe the Highland Village. I'm so glad your children enjoyed the experience. I hope you can come back and visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

For tourists staying in Baddeck, NS, off the beaten path in Iona (a short ferry ride of C$5.25 each way in 2012), is a living history museum of a Gaelic village, portraying the Scottish settlement of this area. The Gaelic village includes men and women in period costume who provide the visitor with details of what existence was like from the late 1700's to the early 1900's for Highland settlers. Walking is required, and initially one walks uphill to access the first building. There are about a dozen structures, each with period furnishings. The view from the village hillside of the Bras d'Or Lake is beautiful. It's a great way to spend a couple of hours in a scenic area learning some of the area's Gaelic history.

Thank Sanr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Director of Sales at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I'm so happy that you mentioned the view from the hill. This is something that is never taken for granted by the great folks who serve as your animators, even though they see it every day. The Highland Village in Iona is one of the few places where you can see all four Counties of Cape Breton Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our first stop on Cape Breton Island (while driving through the Maritimes) was the Highland Village Museum at Iona. We were on our way to Baddeck and we decided to take a detour to learn more about the early Scottish settlers in the region. I'm glad we did this. We got there with about an hour and a half to spare before closing. I think 2 hours would be the minimum time required to enjoy this place. The museum is a collection of homes and other structures that the settlers used on Cape Breton from the time they moved here. In each structure there is an actor in period costume who welcomes you and chats with you about life in those times. We even spoke to a grocer and a blacksmith. Our adult daughters loved this unique way of learning about the settlers and the hard times they had faced. The location of the Museum is stunning, overlooking the Bras D'Or. There's also a short introductory video that we watched before walking around. Our visit was a bit rushed but we managed to take in everything. It was well worth the entry fee.

1  Thank Keron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Director of Sales at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Isn't it nice when you make a detour from your plan and find something special as a result? This seems to be what happened with you and we are really pleased that you took the time to share you experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Highland Village was so interesting and such a beautiful location on the Bras d'Or Lake. The guides were very knowledgeable and we thought it was definitely worth the time to visit.

Thank Sonyagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We're so pleased you took the time to visit with us! The view from the hill is spectacular and our animators work very hard to help you experience what life was like for the Gaelic settlers to Nova Scotia. I will certainly pass along your kind comments to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We really loved this little gem. We all (me, husband and 12 year old son) really learned a lot but also had a great time. Spent the whole morning there and the time went by so fast we didn't realize we'd been there 3 hours. Fantastic interpreters lay out visually the history of Scottish settlement in Nova Scotia. Arguably located in the most beautiful setting in Nova Scotia. Must see if you are in the area with kids - or without. Also, they allow dogs which is huge since so many parks and other attractions do not.

Thank ATravelerinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the kind words. I am especially pleased that your 12 year old enjoyed the experience. What would your son say his favourite part of the visit was?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Village also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Highland Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing