We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a step back in time....”
Review of Highland Village

Highland Village
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Iona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the lifestyle of the Scots in Nova Scotia at the Village's Outdoor Pioneer Museum or look up your Cape Breton roots at the Genealogy and Family History Centre. The Highland Village is situated on a beautiful site overlooking the Bras d'Or Lakes and is open from May to mid October.
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Like a step back in time....”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was a fabulous & worthwhile side trip for us while driving through Cape Breton, NS. We were lucky enough to discover this place on a warm, sunny day. Well worth the cost (I think it was something like $8 per adult), and make sure you take a camera.

The village is set out so you start with the first style of home the Gaelic settlers inhabited. The village is "inhabited" by the immigrants from each time period, and the houses improve / change as time progresses.

It was educational, inspiring, and incredibly interesting! I highly recommend this attraction - people with children would love it. We were 3 adults travelling together, and we loved it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hi Kelly, thanks for visiting with us, we are happy you were able to come to Iona. We have been working hard on our characters and using stories of our Gaelic ancestor's lives enhance the visitor experience. We hope you took away a sense of how people and the culture are what makes Cape Breton a great place to live and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    59
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Wee Bit of Scotland in Cape Breton”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If your budget doesn't allow you to travel to Scotland, I would suggest a trip to this wee bit of Scotland in Iona, Nova Scotia. We were fortunate to be there on a lovely, sunny day, and the views were glorious! Such a peaceful place. A wonderful escape from the city. Set in the beautiful,highlands of Cape Breton you feel like you have flown across the sea. The people who work there are all in character, and you can follow the history of the Scots from their homeland to modern times. From the thatched hut to a 1950"s home, you will experience Scottish hospitality. It was great fun listening to the fiddles and singing of traditional music. Looking through old Sears catalogues at the general store, and watching them spin flax and weave material. All the traditions of their native land. All this and more in one of the most beautiful settings you can imagine. I now know why Alexander Graham Bell said: "I have seen the Hightlands of Scotland, the Alps and the Rockie Mountains, but have chosen Cape Breton for it's beauty" That is a rough translation, but I feel the same way. He had travelled the world, as I have, and chose to live in Cape Breton. I can't wait to retire to Nova Scotia.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Gail, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Highland Village. Our staff is working hard to present a great experience to our visitors using their characters and stories of our Gaelic ancestors. The Gaels who settled Cape Breton, used to the views from their homeland, often placed their houses high on hills giving great views of the waters inland and around the coast. We like to show that even though the houses and way of life changed, our culture remains rooted in the Gaelic language through our music, songs and stories. Thanks so much for coming to see us and for the kind words. Maybe we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“History and Architecture”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I would highly recommend a visit to this site for anyone interested in the Scottish immigration to Cape Breton or even to anyone interested in the changing architecture of houses over the centuries.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your visit and the great review. Our ancestors made many changes in their lifestyle over the years, coming from the stone house to the 1900s. The styles of home from 1829 to the 1920s can still be seen today all over eastern Nova Scotia. Sometimes the homes are re-styled or recycled to newer versions. We hope you enjoyed your trip to our village and to Nova Scotia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Blacksmith was AMAZING! The entire village gave the kids a look back in time

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hviona, Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. The Blacksmith is quite a guy and he enjoys his work. The blacksmith was always a colourful fellow in the community, full of stories and factsw. He had to be a jack of all trades sometimes and had people gather at his shop to hear the stories and get the village gossip. Thanks for coming to visit. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Level Contributor
604 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“A wonderful re-creation of life in early Nova Scotia”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a wonderful place, with the dwellings, shown in chronological order, ranging from a Scottish "Black House" through newer houses that the immigrants built in Nova Scotia over the years. In most houses there are costumed folks who tell about life in their time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We are glad you could visit and that you enjoyed your experience. Our staff work hard to provide that extra bit to make the visits memorable. With the great scenery as a backdrop, the aura of the original buildings and stories of our Gaelic ancestors, we hope everyone has as good a time as you. Thanks so much for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Village also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Highland Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing