We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Osprey Shores”

Osprey Shores Golf Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guysborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osprey Shores Golf Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Guysborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Motel units wre well appointed and very clean and spacious. Bathrooms were large and furnished with toiletries and hair dryer. There was a golf tourney the day we checked in (June 21 for one night stay) with partying golfers, but they were considerate of others. Had dinner at the Rare Bird which was just soso (salmon overcooked and dry) as this was the first day of the season they were open and learned that they had sent their head chef to the golf restor and only had back up cooks at the restaurant. We were the only people in the restaurant. Had breakfast next morning at Days Gone By Bakery and Antique Shop. Really nice restaurant/bakery with wonderful breakfast. Would highly recomment Osprey Shores and Days Gone By Bakery.

Room Tip: We had next to end room away from pool and pro shop so it was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the Osprey Shores Golf Resort on Saturday 9th June. We thought that the web-site was excellent and we were looking forward to something quite special. We were travelling up to Cape Breton and wanted to stop on the way. From that point of view Guysborough is a fair stopping point. Taking account of the fact that it was absolutely pouring with rain when we arrived it was difficult to enjoy the surroundings and I am sure if the sun was shining that this hotel is in a great position. The room was adequate and looked as though it had been recently painted and the curtains appeared new. The furnishings were ok but there was a large stain on the chair in our room, the chest of drawers didn't shut properly and the leg fell off the chair in our friend's room. The bathrooms are a bit tired and quite small.The TV had terrible reception on every channel. I know it is early in the season but it felt a bit unloved but I wouldn't go as far as to say musty. What really disappointed was the lack of facilities. The rooms are equipped with a fridge (bit stained) and a microwave but no facilities for making drinks. Do golfers only drink beer? What we wanted on a cold rainy evening was a decent coffee or a cup of tea but no and the club house didn't oblige either. We hadn't appreciated that we wouldn't be able to eat at the Resort. However, undaunted we set out for the village of Guysborough and fortunately we were able to have a cup of tea at the bakery which was fine. They told us that they were open until 8pm and that the only other open restaurant was the Big G's Pizza restaurant. The Rare Bird Inn mentioned on the web-site of the Osprey Shores had yet to open for the season. We tried to eat at the sister hotel in Guysborough but they would only take us if we were staying there so we ate at Big G's which was a very middling experience and the wine list had two varieties on it - red or white! Wine was sold by the glass!! When we returned to our rooms at the Osprey Shores the club house was shut up and we couldn't get anything to drink, hot, cold or otherwise. (What we really wanted was a coffee!). We weren't there to play golf, so I can't comment on the course. We were just glad to move on on the the Sunday morning (with no breakfast!). Sorry in season this might be a wholly different experience, but at the time of year when we visited I think the facilities are a bit lacking and we could have done with knowing that in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed 4 nights. It was a safe, quite, relaxing place. Great people who were very helpful and cheerful. The view was amazing. I highly recommend this place. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: a must stay for ralaxtion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greedysugarmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I will begin by saying I've never stayed in the resort's accomodation, rather than make up a fake story about how bad/good the place is, but the golf course is spectacular. It's a course where you can leave the driver out of your bag and just test the accuracy of your irons and short game, all the while enjoying the water view that rivals Chester and Lunenburg.

Since it's clear that the above-reviewer made about 5 statements that simply aren't factually correct, just ignore him. My guess is s/he must work for some conservative DC think-tank where if a mosquito were to fly in the door, the blame would be immediately placed on liberals for not adequately controlling the mosquito population.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank youpi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We made reservations at this "resort" based on the recommendation of the Nova Scotia tourism guide (a great service, although they do make a commission for every hotel they book, so keep that in mind when they're suggesting places). After a week of staying in cheaper motels and cabins, we thought we'd splurge and treat ourselves to nicer accommodations. We were really excited on the drive there to spend the night at a resort, but it was short lived.

When we got there and saw the strip of four little, rundown motel-like rooms in front of the clubhouse we assumed we had gone to the wrong place. It was only 6:30 pm, but the place was a ghost town. Not a single person, employee or guest, was on the premises besides us. It was like something our of a horror movie. The key was left in our room and a note on the clubhouse door that said if we had any questions or concerns to go to the nursing home down the street and call.

The inside of the room was even worse. It smelled like formaldehyde and was filled with MOSQUITOS and other insects. The furniture was old and dusty, with paper thin blankets on the bed. The only way to describe the bathroom is the word "airline," since the sink and toilets were all small enough to fit on an airplane restroom. They also had only given us two towels for 4 people.

The worst part about all this is that there was no one there to complain or even talk to!

We quickly decided to cancel our reservation and drive another hour to the closest motel in Canso. The Osprey contact was friendly when we called to cancel (probably because this happens all the time) but she did outright lie to us and say that there were no other places to stay unless we drove 4 hours to Halifax, which is not true at all.

They do have a golf course, but in no way is Osprey Shores a "resort." I wouldn't even call them a motel. You'd be better off sleeping outside on the ground. At least there'd be less bugs to deal with.

(If you don't believe this review, check out their website or brochures, and you'll find no pictures of the rooms. Just aerial shots of their golf course.)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FunkDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine_Drive, General Manager at Osprey Shores Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2009

We were shocked to see this review. Yes, Guysborough is like a ghost town! Our properties are in a village of 700 people and it is very quiet in our community at night. Some folks think this is the charm of getting off the beaten track.

We did have a staff member greet you and give you your key personally for your room. And when you did not like your room, you spoke with me, the General Manager by phone with our team member present. Unfortunately I was unable to provide you any other accommodations in our properties as we were sold out for the evening.

With regard to your room comments: our rooms are cleaned with ECO friendly cleaners, have screened windows, solid wood furniture, Springwall Chiropractic® Sleep System mattresses, hypoallergenic blanket duvets and 280 thread count sheets. We do have photos of our rooms on the accommodation page of our website as we take pride in our lodging and our warm Maritime hospitality. We are disappointed that you did not find these amenities to your liking and that we were unable to provide you with a room.

Lastly, the Nova Scotia tourism guide does not recommend lodging; it simply lets people know what accommodations are available on the route they are travelling. And they do not receive a commission for hotels they book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guysborough
16.4 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
187 reviews
23.9 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
219 reviews
13.7 mi away
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Guysborough
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DesBarres Manor Inn
DesBarres Manor Inn
#3 of 5 in Guysborough
76 reviews
17.4 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Hastings
169 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lonely Rock Seaside Bungalows
Lonely Rock Seaside Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Guysborough
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Shores Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Shores Golf Resort

Address: 119 Ferry Lane, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Guysborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guysborough
Price Range: $87 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 60 acre peninsula on the historic Guysborough harbour, Osprey Shores is a relaxed Nova Scotia vacation getaway. Guest accommodations are in a 10 room motel style lodge. The 10 hole golf course features scenic ocean views from every fairway. Guests have access to a private dock in Mussel Cove. Pet friendly rooms are available. Osprey Shores is also home to the Authentic Seacoast Distillery & Brewery. The first golf course in the world with a distillery and brewery, guests can relax in the beautiful tasting room and enjoy award-winning spirits and craft beer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osprey Shores Golf Resort Nova Scotia/Guysborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing