We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you book dinner when you book your room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DesBarres Manor Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Guysborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2007

DesBarres Manor is beautiful. The rooms are tastefully done and have a number of luxurious touches. I would have rated the inn a 5, if it weren't for the following serious glitch:

When we arrived, we tried to make a reservation for dinner but were told that their restaurant was full. No one had informed me when I booked the room months earlier that this might be a problem. There are no comparable alternatives in town. Instead, the inn recommended a pub, the Rare Bird, which it also owns. Since we'd driven such a long way, we didn't feel like getting in the car again, so we walked to the pub for dinner. Let's just say it's a casual, loud, pretty sub-par place, especially when we had been looking forward to something much, much better.

I don't understand inns that trumpet their restaurants as part of the experience of staying with them, then turn away their own guests! At the very least, they should have recommended that we book dinner at the same time we booked the room. Or made sure that they had enough tables to accommodate all of their guests, especially since there are no other good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 76 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2007

After a long driving tour from north Cape Breton, this was a wonderful find.

The staff were very welcoming and offered us tea & banana bread immediately on arriving; we took them up on this after we had got over how fantastic our room (the Wolfe room) was. After unwinding in the lounge with tea and books, we had the most excellent dinner, the chef is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble - a vegetarian choice was made especially for me. The wine was also fantastic, and we had the best night's sleep in ages; comfy beds and lots of peace and quiet!

Breakfast the next day was also very substantial, yoghurts, fruits and cereals followed by the day's cooked option - in our case fluffy light waffles and strawberries. You really don't need much more to keep you going through the day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go again next time we're in Novia Scotia.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ginger_wookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed for one night at the gorgeous DesBarres Manor Inn in Guysborough, Nova Scotia. The inn is a restored nineteenth century house with huge grounds a couple of very short blocks from the harbour on Chedabucto Bay. The place is amazing - gorgeous restoration, antique furniture in every room, 600 thread count sheets on the beds, and an in house chef if you would like to reserve supper. It is a class act all the way. The bathroom was amazing, with a super deep tub I could nearly swim in, every possible travelers emergency need set out ( Q-tips ! Thank you ! ), and thick terry robes to slip into after your bath. A plus !

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Prince Edward Island, Canada
12
Reviewed December 19, 2005

Spent a wonderful overnight at DesBarre Manor in Guysborough, Nova
Scotia. The Inn is flawlessly restored, beautiful, quiet and comfortable, with personal service from attentive staff. I felt like I'd spent a weekend at a friend's Country house!
My aim is to see it in two more seasons within the next year!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ontario, Canada
1
Reviewed December 18, 2005

Our stay at DesBarres Manor, was one of our most outstanding weekend get aways ever. Every aspect of our stay in Guysborough was overwhelmingly relaxing.
The staff at the manor were most accommdating and very knowledgable not only about the manor itself but surrounding areas as well. I have only the best of compliments to the chef, and would highly recommend the "Halibut with the cranberry butter", and be sure to let the staff marry the wine with your meal.The Rare Bird pub was equally as breath taking. The patio view of the ocean is outstanding, and be sure to ask for their own specially brewed beer!! The Skipping Stone art gallery and gift store, which is just a skip away from the pub has a wonderful selection of quality gifts.

Stayed: September 2005
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Halifax, NS
1
Reviewed November 22, 2005

Upon arriving in Guysborough County, I was stunned by the absolute beauty. The Desbarres Manor was of equal beauty and tranquility.
The staff, the Manor, the property and amenities were unparalleled.
I would highly recommend this retreat!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Nova Scotia
11
Reviewed October 6, 2005

Our first visit to Guysborough, in late September 2005, brought us to the DesBarres Manor.

We were delighted first by the beauty of the property and its grounds. Gracious hosts Tabitha and Tyler were most welcoming. After being shown to our room, the Wolfe Suite, we didn't want to leave! Fabulous, luxurious decor and amenities. History books, bird books, fishing books, map books...there were books everywhere! We could have spent a week reading about Guysborough and these Properties.

We were given a guided tour of the Manor, as well as its complete, fascinating history. Chef Shaun provided a feast for our dinner; when you go, be sure to ask for the Osso Bucco! Their extensive wine list was the perfect complement to a five-star meal. Our after-dinner drinks on the deck were the icing on the cake. For breakfast, the buffet was incredible: cereals, juices, yogurt, platters of fresh fruit, dried fruit, homemade granola, bread, and jam, and wonderful organic coffee. Two days never passed so fast!

After checking out, we lunched at the Rare Bird Pub. More of the same fascinating history, and spectacular decor. The waterfront deck has got to be one of the best in Atlantic Canada. Instant service, and with a smile! Here, be sure to try the chowder, the hand-cut fries, and their beer, brewed on site.

No question, DesBarres Manor is the jewel of the Marine Drive. We've already made our 2006 reservations...everyone should do the same! Highly recommended.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guysborough
17.1 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
193 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
98 reviews
13.1 mi away
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Guysborough
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Lonely Rock Seaside Bungalows
Lonely Rock Seaside Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Guysborough
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to DesBarres Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DesBarres Manor Inn

Address: 90 Church Street, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Guysborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guysborough
Price Range: $116 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DesBarres Manor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named by The Toronto Sun as "one of 9 of the most romantic hotels in Canada", DesBarres Manor Inn brings together the style of a boutique hotel with the warmth of a country inn. Built in 1837 as the residence for Supreme Court Justice W.F. DesBarres, this restored manor home features 10 luxurious guests rooms, an award-winning fireside dining room and elegant common rooms on six acres of grounds in the heart of the charming seaside village of Guysborough. Recipient of the Nova Scotia Cuisine of the Year and seven Wine Spectator Awards of Excellence, DesBarres Manor Inn offers simple, direct and honest food that captures the flavours and traditions of our Nova Scotia region. The Inn offers a range of special getaway packages including cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your DesBarres Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desbarres Manor Hotel Guysborough
DesBarres Manor Inn Nova Scotia/Guysborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing