We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished we had stayed more than 1 nite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DesBarres Manor Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Guysborough B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wished we had stayed more than 1 nite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were 5 university friends with our spouse travelling around Nova Scotia as part of our annual reunion - we have been doing this for 48 years. My husband and I stayed in the Williams Suite but I checked out all the other rooms and they were all equally beautiful and we had dinner in their lovely intimate diningroom however there was no intimacy when the gang of hoodlums (us) showed up and the staff moved the couple dining to their private lounge. Everything was fabulous from our room, to our dinner to the staff especially the staff! What I do recommend is that you stay more than one night!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Williams Room has a HUGE bathtub while all the other rooms have regular baths though they are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mykonoslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    2
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although we're native Nova Scotians, we had never ventured to Guysborough and decided that it was time. The DesBarres Manor looked intriguing so we booked two nights and were not disappointed. The room was beautifully appointed with lovely antiques, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean and spacious with nice, thick towels and complementary robes. The breakfasts were hearty and the one dinner we had there (the diningroom was fully booked the first night) was delicious. We enjoyed sitting and sipping our drinks on the large deck overlooking the surrounding hills, and meeting people in the evening in the very comfortably-furnished lounge/bar. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The DesBarres is definitely on our list for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydrostone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

From central Canada but originally from Nova Scotia, we found ourselves touring the province in early July. Spotted the Inn on the Internet, attracted by the fine cuisine but also because it was an area we had never been. A small snag on arrival...they had lost our reservation, and so shut down and gave the staff a (likely) rare mid-summer night off. As soon as we made cellphone contact, however, the wheels started rolling VERY fast. Staff appeared, apologies made, a lovely room offered, an exquisite meal graciously served from a fine menu, and handed the key to the place...when the staff went home, we were on our own in this gorgeously-restored mansion. Such a treat! Do yourself a favour, and try this place...you will have no regrets. Excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed 4th June 2013 - booked romantic getaway at $184 pp plus taxes. Supposed to have champagne (actually bottle of local white wine) and fruit (grapes) and cheese followed by a 5 course meal (actually 3 courses offered). Given a glass of white wine (choice of chef - without reference to us) and then charged for it on the bill. Breakfast was adequate but not anything to shout home about (inferior to the breakfasts we have experienced in B&Bs). The house is beautiful and the room was lovely but the inn was not really fully open - no bar open, no full dining service, no-one else there! Unfortunately the water was off when we arrived and was supposed to be back on by 6pm - when no water available we had to find someone to check with (no-one available on reception) and eventually water was turned back on at 6:40pm - just about in time for the dinner which we had been told was at 7:00pm - we were not asked when we would like it! We were not offered even a bottle of water while the water was off and it is the only place we have stayed in Canada where no tea or coffee was available to the guest. All in all - service scant but pleasant enough when there was any; food adequate but not the gourmet experience I was hoping for; very overpriced as taxes bring the bill to well over $400 for one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMG685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently spent a couple of days in this wonderful Inn. It was off season but nothing about our room or service was off. What a stunning Manor, all the charm of the centuries gone by but all the comforts were there. We had the Willams room - huge soaker tub was great after a long walk around town. Our Inn keeper was a charming and attentive host. We had a blast chatting with him and then in evenings we had the place to ourselves. What fantastic common area on the main floor, I read great book I found there. We were able to kick back on the couch. The morning coffee was locally roasted and excellent. The only down side is that the dining room was closed for the season. We will be back !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s19m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've had dinner here several times and it has always been wonderful. The Chef is always willing to work with us on our menu preferences and the wait staff is pleasant and responsive. The mansion is lovely and the grounds are inviting. It's a nice stroll to the waterfront afterward.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We needed a quiet week-end break, so we chose the DesBarres Manor Inn for the occasion. Great choice! The small village is becoming quite picturesque and with the setting overlooking Chedabucto Bay, it is hard to go wrong, as this is an amazingly beautiful body of water on our coast. The only down side of the village was the great looking pub, becoming well known for its craft beers, is closed for the season. Go figure!
The Inn itself is quite stately in a laid back way, the rooms were large and welcoming and the beds very comfortable. After a long drive along the Eastern Shore, it was great to be well received by the staff, given a tour of the Inn and escorted to our room. The evening meal was a set four course meal and can only be described as excellent. We travel quite a bit both for work and pleasure and this we both rated as our best dinner in memory. The flavours, quality and presentation were outstanding and we will be going back, long drive or not! Breakfast in the morning was also very enjoyable and as we left the Inn we both had a smile which said we had scored a winner. Highly recommended for a couple wanting a lovely get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maclej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guysborough
17.1 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
24.4 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
13.0 mi away
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Guysborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sea'scape Cottages
Sea'scape Cottages
#1 of 1 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
18.4 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DesBarres Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DesBarres Manor Inn

Property: DesBarres Manor Inn
Address: 90 Church Street, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Guysborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guysborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DesBarres Manor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named by The Toronto Sun as "one of 9 of the most romantic hotels in Canada", DesBarres Manor Inn brings together the style of a boutique hotel with the warmth of a country inn. Built in 1837 as the residence for Supreme Court Justice W.F. DesBarres, this restored manor home features 10 luxurious guests rooms, an award-winning fireside dining room and elegant common rooms on six acres of grounds in the heart of the charming seaside village of Guysborough. Recipient of the Nova Scotia Cuisine of the Year and seven Wine Spectator Awards of Excellence, DesBarres Manor Inn offers simple, direct and honest food that captures the flavours and traditions of our Nova Scotia region. The Inn offers a range of special getaway packages including cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DesBarres Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desbarres Manor Hotel Guysborough
DesBarres Manor Inn Nova Scotia/Guysborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing