We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rare Bird Pub & Eatery

Rare Bird Pub & Eatery
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Head Of Chezzetcook
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had dinner on the patio which was quite enjoyable. The burger, pull-pork sandwich and fish and chips were all good. Unfortunately, we were not able to try the Pub's micro-bewery lager beer since they were out of it that night. The service was friendly and efficient. Reasonable prices for good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 902Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deserted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This town is a total ghost-town. Didn't see a single person driving through. We came to this restaurant on the recommendation from the Osprey Golf Resort where we were staying (a motel really) and they informed us that the Rare Bird closes at 8 pm (as does everything else in this town) so we raced over there. There was only one other couple in the entire restaurant other than our party of 10. There was one server on for the entire place and although she was very friendly, she was a little slow on the refilling of drinks etc (especially for being one of her two tables).
The food took a really long time to come out and it was just ok. I had the ribs which were pretty good but for others there food was dry, tasteless and rubbery- especially the fish and chips! Bleh. It was pouring rain at the time but the patio looked like it would be awesome on a hot summer day! Beautiful view.

Helpful?
Thank redhead042491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had lunch on the deck overlooking the waterfront. The weather was perfect and the food was good. A very enjoyable lunch in a quiet, lovely little town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KateJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“July 2012”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very disappointing. Tomatoes in my salad were mouldy. Disgusting. The club sandwich was sub par. Would not go back again for food. Building and location is nice. Would visit again for a drink and entertainment - maybe fries - hard to mess that up.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauri2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“not sure about the poor reviews, we had a good lunch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good prices, friendly prompt service. I would recommend.

One of our party wanted a Caeser, so the waiter sent staff out for the magic ingredient. OK so in Canada they should have had it already, but points for getting some for us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Bird Pub & Eatery also viewed

Guysborough, Nova Scotia
Guysborough, Nova Scotia
 
Guysborough, Nova Scotia
 
Guysborough, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Rare Bird Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing