We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, interesting antiques”

Days Gone By Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Guysborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Description: A warm and cozy coastal country atmosphere, with home-style cooked meals and friendly service. This is a place where people come to feel at home. Where locals meet with friends to catch up and also to showcase their handcrafted talents. Where visitors come to experience what Guysborough County hospitality is all about.  Explore the many antiques and vintage items throughout our multi-levelled gift shop, as well as new home decor and gift ware items. You'll find everything from J.R. Watkins bug spray, to fifty year old rolling pins and Nova Scotia sou' westers!  Before you leave, your nose will lead you to our bakery (that's where all the magic happens!) There you'll grab a pack of handmade cookies, or a fresh loaf of homemade bread and perhaps a delightful little treat from our showcase for your travels!  You won't regret stopping in for a visit and staying for longer than you thought you would. To us, you are guests  - and we look forward to having you over to visit us soon! 
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, interesting antiques”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were there on business and needed lunch. Stopped in, expecting an ordinary lunch but it was anything but....Excellent salad and half a sandwich. Partner had a hamburger. All on homemade bread! We purchased some porridge bread to take with us that was also excellent.

Like Topsy the building goes on and on with antiques and gift items.

We shall return and have already recommended it to others who venture of the 'normal' route between the mainland and Cape Breton. Delightful drive as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capejake2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    37
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Fantastic oatcakes and datebars!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I have made this a must stop when we travel to NS! He loves the oatcakes and datebars, especially! In fact, all of the baked good are fresh and the place smells incredible when you walk in. Breakfast and lunch are also on order if you want to sit and have a more leisurely time. Cute shop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guysborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Days Gone By Bakery Inc.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A wonderfully cozy atmosphere. The bakery is cup caked themed and the restaurant is old country. The food is down home good! The giftshop is bar none one of the nicest you will find anywhere with an eclectic mix of country, 50-60's and present. A great place to have breakfast, lunch or supper and buy gifts for your friends and family. One stop shopping. Anyone who visits MUST try the punpkin cheesecake muffins...you can't have just one!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaverblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to eat in Guysborough”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great food for the money. Excellent service from Charlene...I had corn chowder, I recommend it. My family had the chicken fingers and fries. The portions were big, and good quality for the money. The view is fabulous, and our waitress was very attentive, Would recommend this as a great place to eat while in Guysborough.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good home cooked food, and great pies. Had a great hot turkey and then a fabulous piece of coconut cream pie.
And they have gifts, antiques and quilts to boot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysgone, Owner at Days Gone By Bakery, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks Jim for the great review, Hopefully you will make it to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Days Gone By Bakery also viewed

 
Guysborough, Nova Scotia
Guysborough, Nova Scotia
 
Guysborough, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Days Gone By Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing