We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best BBs ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We are avid world travelers and this beautiful spot is now on our short list. Spectacular area, beautiful historic home and exceptional hosts. Our visit was the highlight of our Maritimes motorcycle adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DHMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 539 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

A magnificient home full of a lifetime of treasures......we were rescued from the ravages of Tropical Storm Danny while camping. The Monks opened their home to me and my 2 young and very wet children.....provided us with a safe, dry, warm haven away from the wind and torrential rains. The children were whisked away, wrapped in warm blankets and fed hot chocolate and television. We all felt we had died and went to heaven. I can not recommend this B and B enough. What a wonderful beautiful place with exceptional hosts. Thank you, Bill and AnnMarie and I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NovaScotiaPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My mother and I stayed four nights at A Sea Faring Maiden and found the hosts Ann-Marie and Bill very warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were lovely, great home baked muffins to start and delicious hot cooked breakfasts followed. The home is beautifully decorated and the Captain's bedroom was a welcome retreat after a long day of sight seeing!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Occasionaltraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This was quite simply the best Bed and Breakfast I've ever stayed at! Bill and AnneMarie clearly love opening their home to weary travelers. From the warmest greetings to the beautiful, clean room (my eight-year old appreciated the teddy bear placed on her bed, along with the lovely chocolate!), from the fantastic home-cooked breakfast to the extra touches (like a pot of coffee set out an hour before breakfast or the plush bathrobes cleverly set up in the closet), you just can not go stop in Granville Ferry and stay anywhere else! All the best to them and hopefully I will again be able to enjoy their hospitality.

Mary Gallant

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whosqueen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had a wonderful time from the moment we arrived. Bill & Ann Marie were wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with them. The room was nice, big and bright and the breakfast the next morning was the icing on the cake. Too bad we could not stay an extra day but we will return. We would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0MZTAXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We spent two nights at the Seafaring Maiden, my husband and I and our two children. We all loved the room, which was very clean, attractive and spacious - even with four of us in it. Our king-size bed was really a treat, and the kids raved about how comfortable their bed was. The house was beautifully laid out and decorated, wonderfully situated directly across from the water, and provided very easy access to Annapolis Royal. The hosts were very gracious, warm, friendly, interesting, and knowledgeable about the local history and goings-on. They made great recommendations for dining and sightseeing in the area. Breakfast each morning was creative and delicious, different each day. The breakfast dining atmosphere was equally enjoyable, warm and comfortable, and very conducive to becoming acquainted with the other guests.

And if all that isn't enough, the whole area around there - Annapolis Royal, Upper Clements Park, Digby, etc. was fabulous!

If A Seafaring Maiden were anywhere close to where we lived, we'd go back again and again. Hope we'll make it back at least once more in this lifetime!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tempefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

The best B&B we have stayed in! We spent 7 nights at the Seafaring Maiden with hosts Bill and Ann Marie Monk. What a treat! They went out of their way to do what ever possible to make our stay comfortable. Our room was well appointed with a beautiful view. The breakfasts were outstanding. A glass of wine in the evening with other guests listening to Bill’s suggestions of what to see and do in the area was a great way to end the day. After our week at the Seafaring Maiden, we felt like long time friends. If you are going to be in the Annapolis Royal area the Seafaring Maiden is definitely the place to stay!

G&G Fleming
Toronto ON

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville Ferry
1.1 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
113 reviews
13.4 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.8 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5287 Granville Rd, Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal > Granville Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Granville Ferry
Price Range: $92 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Granville Ferry and overlooking the historic town of Annapolis Royal, this beautiful 1881 registered heritage property was home to Sea Captain, Ship Builder, and Merchant, Captain Joseph Hall. All rooms overlook the Annapolis River,Fort Anne and the town of Annapolis Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Seafaring Maiden Bed And Breakfast Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing