We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloodstains in the bed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bloodstains in the bed...”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice arrival, we felt welcome. The room had a nice cachet.

But...

...at bedtime, we (my gilfriend and i) found a lot of different little bloodstains on the mattress sheet, like someone cut himself and made the bed.

It was late and i wasn't sure which room the owners was. I would liked to ask them to have an other room...

In the morning, after breakfast and alone with the owners, i explained them the situation. Bill told me that it was his blood and told me that he was sorry. So if he know that he left those blood spots, why he didn't change the sheet (with a plaster on his injured finger)?

On their web site, you can read that " Bill, having completed a successful 31 year career in retail, business management, and customer service brings that expertise to the owning and operating of this Bed & Breakfast."

I question myself based on my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBane_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova1957, Owner at A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It is extremely important to us to respond to your concern regarding the bedding in your room as the comfort of our guests is our first and foremost priority. We did appreciate the discression you showed by mentioning to us privately that there were some dried blood stains on the fitted sheet of your bed. We relayed to you that it must have been from Bill's injured hand, but that had he'd known this had occurred, the sheets would have been removed and discarded immediately. Please be assured that these sheets were discarded after your stay. As well, we would have happily addressed your concern that evening had it been brought to our attention as we live on the premises and can be easily accessed at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
336
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Bill and Anne Marie, albeit way to short. It did not take long to feel at home in their lovely B & B. The attention to personal needs was appreciated, the early carafe of coffee for the guests was wonderful for us early risers. Great bath products, comfy bed and lovely cotton bedding and I very much enjoyed all the interesting décor in our room. As mentioned many times in previous reviews the delicious breakfast created by Anne Marie and served in a gracious dining room by the ever entertaining Bill was great. There is nothing better than starting your day by sharing food and experiences with other travellers.

Bill ensured that we headed off in the right direction when continuing the day, giving suggestions of sites to see in gorgeous Nova Scotia. BTW Bill, we truly enjoyed "The Tangled Garden", how insightful of you to know that we would love it, thank you!!

Until next time, may yew both have continued success at your beautiful B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemptvillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were made to feel so welcome by our hosts Bill and Anne Marie. Their thoughtful consideration, hospitality and great recommendations helped us to make the most of our short visit to Annapolis Royal. We so enjoyed our stay especially the graveyard tour by Alan Melanson; a real treat, oral history in action and great to see such pride and passion. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildrovers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Bill and AnnMarie. They are such gracious, friendly people. The Seafaring Maiden is a very charming old home with beautiful antiques. The nautical theme is perfect. The breakfast was delicious. We would recommend staying here to anyone. Bill and AnnMarie are the kind of people you will be tempted to call good friends after being with them for a short while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at a Seafaring Maiden B&B in the Abigail and Bessie bedrooms for 2 nights. Our hosts AnnMarie and Bill Monk have restored and decorated the rooms and house to reflect the Victorian era of AnnMarie's heritage home. Gourmet breakfasts were sumptuous with specialty jams and delicious coffee served in china teacups. Conversations shared with guests and our hosts made breakfast time enjoyable and special part of the trip. Our hosts have a wide knowledge of the Annapolis Valley region and suggested interesting historical sites to visit. I would return to this stunning part of Nova Scotia again and make a visit to a Seafaring Maiden part of my stay. Thank you AnnMarie and Bill.

Carol W.

Room Tip: Comfortable rooms. Perhaps the Abigail which is in the back of the house might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hospitality was top notch. Bill and AnnMarie were great hosts and knowledgeable about the Annapolis Royal area. Our room was so lovely, beautifully decorated and spotless, with a comfortable bed and clean crisp linens. Breakfast was superb, with a never ending flow of coffee and wonderful conversation. The meal was satisfying with apple crisp and a frittata that combined potato and sausage to good effect. We will stay here again and highly recommend this B&B to travellers of this area of Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

AnnMarie and Bill are awesome hosts. The food is almost gourmet, the home is beautiful and so is the town. We stayed in many B and B s this vacation and this was by far the best! We loved the schduled breakfast and talking with other guests. If you like to keep to yourself though this is not the place for you. If you want to meet wondrful people as well as fellow travelers, it is a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville Ferry
1.1 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
20 reviews
13.9 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5287 Granville Rd, Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal > Granville Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Granville Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Granville Ferry and overlooking the historic town of Annapolis Royal, this beautiful 1881 registered heritage property was home to Sea Captain, Ship Builder, and Merchant, Captain Joseph Hall. All rooms overlook the Annapolis River,Fort Anne and the town of Annapolis Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Seafaring Maiden Bed And Breakfast Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing