We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another B and B in the Annapolis Royal area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed at five other B and B's in Annapolis Royal and we were anxious to try Try Advisor's #1.
Bill and Ann Marie are gracious and welcoming hosts. The breakfast was very good and the conversation around the table with other guests was most interesting.
However, we do have some less positive comments about the Seafaring Maiden. We were surprised to find only one hanger in the wardrobe- that meant only 1 piece of clothing could be hung overnight. A common problem we find with this and other B and B's is that there are not comfortable chairs on which to sit and read or watch tv. The two chairs in our room were low and not comfortable for sitting for any extended period. We were also very disappointed that the satellite package did not include a Sportsnet station so we could watch some of the beginning of the baseball playoffs.
We like to be able to walk to restaurants, to the beautiful Gardens in Annapolis and to the other sights in the town. This B and B is located in Granville Ferry which is quite a distance away from Annapolis Royal so we had to drive in order to do anything in the town.
We think we'll go back to our favourite B and B, The Tulip Tree, as it offers us more of what we are looking for in this type of accommodation.

Room Tip: Only two of the rooms have ensuite bathrooms. The third room has a bathroom across the landing (whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova1957, Owner at A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear PBMaritimer.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and please know that we take all of your thoughts to heart. We truly love running our B&B, A Seafaring Maiden, as well, hosting our wonderful guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed the full gourmet breakfast and the interesting conversation at the breakfast table.
Bill and I both feel so blessed to have found my ancestral home in the quiet and quaint village of Granville Ferry, overlooking the Annapolis River, Fort Anne, and the town of Annapolis Royal, which is mere minutes (a 2 mile drive) from our door. We feel a great responsiblity to this lovely Victorian home, thus we have included many period pieces in the decor such as the antique armoire in the room in which you stayed (now replenished with hangers) and the Eastlake chairs (aesthetically pleasing, functional, yet admittedly not always the most comfortable).
The Annapolis Royal area offers a great variety of events, activities, restaurants, shopping, and lodging; we believe this provides travelers a broad range of choices and reasons to come visit this beautful and historic part of Nova Scotia.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Bill and Ann Marie Monk, your hosts at A Seafaring Maiden Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 546 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Top notch breakfast, lovely heritage home, quiet, great beds and a bow window that we could see the water from. Hospitality and helpfulness was outstanding. I couldn't remember the name of the B&B when asked where we were staying, but the locals knew exactly which one it was by location. Ironically, I found out that the lady of the house is a singer and teaches voice. I was closer than I thought to reality!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daschunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Superlatives are easy to apply to this lovely B&B with its welcoming, informative, gracious and delightful hosts, Ann Marie and Bill Monk. Their historic home looks across the Annapolis River to Annapolis Royal with "must see" sites and activities on both sides of the river, all made accessible with helpful suggestions from both Bill and Ann Marie. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable; the breakfasts are bountiful and deliciously creative. It's a home where everyone seems like best friends and everyone wishes that they had at least one more night in this wonderful B&B. We did too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I wished we had stayed longer than just the one night at Bill & AnnMarie's wonderful home. Our room was great , and the bed very comfortable. They are gracious hosts and what a great breakfast prepared by Bill. We'll plan on a longer stay on our next visit.
John & Lynne March, Pacific Grove, California

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I walked into A Seafaring Maiden to be greeted by a bubbly Ann Marie who offered suggestions for visiting the high points of the area. I only stayed one night in a beautiful room overlooking the Annapolis River. Wth an early ferry to catch I couldn't stay for breakfast, but was sent on the road with fresh coffee and a travel bag of goodies. Bill and Ann Marie are most gracious and staying in their lovely home set a wonderful tone for the beginning of my Nova Scotia tour. Lan A.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed one night at the Seafaring Maiden in Granville Ferry, Nova Scotia, an historic home on the bay. Starting with a gracious reception by Bill and Ann and a beautiful room looking over the bay, everything was outstanding. Bill's suggestions about the area mentioned a nighttime tour of the Annapolis Royal cemetery which was led by a costumed guide - great fun. The breakfast was excellent and included Bill's anecdotes about about the local area. Overall, we felt like we were visiting close friends.

Room Tip: The Captain's Room was upstairs and faced the bay, a great choice if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quonset_hyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Seafaring Maiden was lovely and proprieter's Bill & Ann Marie just the same. We only had one night to spend on our visit through Nova Scotia and were delighted by the warmth and hospitality we had. Beautiful accomodations, friendly conversations and good food. We couldn't have asked for more. Thanks for a memorable evening. Ron & Joyce P.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmc_0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville Ferry
0.8 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
27 reviews
13 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5287 Granville Rd, Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal > Granville Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Granville Ferry
Price Range: $86 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Granville Ferry and overlooking the historic town of Annapolis Royal, this beautiful 1881 registered heritage property was home to Sea Captain, Ship Builder, and Merchant, Captain Joseph Hall. All rooms overlook the Annapolis River,Fort Anne and the town of Annapolis Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Seafaring Maiden Bed And Breakfast Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing