We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of restaurant only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.
Ranked #2 of 3 Grand Pre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mentone, AL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Review of restaurant only”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We didn't stay at the motel, but ate lunch there. It was ...okay...the server was very busy, so could not be all that attentive. I think, once again, we ran into another restaurant that attracts the locals that are known there so they get the better service. We had to ask for drink refills every time & also wait for her to come back & get dessert order. There wasn't much of a selection. My husband got the special which was crab quiche and salad. He said it was "fine". I had a veggie sandwich which was like a club, and cut into 4 triangles and it too was fine, nothing special. He had a piece of their "famous" homemade apple pie which probably wold have been better with ice cream. I ordered the lemon meringue and ate two bites. It was good, but I took remainder with me to eat later. Alas, the container opened in our cooler & the pie spilled into the ice & water, so, I wasn't able to enjoy the rest of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carollyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
48
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've been eating at the Evangeline Motel cafe, known locally as Sterlings, for 40 years. I moved away from the area a long time ago, but breakfast or lunch at Sterlings is a such highlight of a visit "home" that I always do it at least twice! Marg would be proud of the way the tradition for excellence has been maintained by her family and staff. The fruit pies are still justifiably famous. The menu is simple, but nothing on it will disappoint, unless you are addicted to fried food. If you need chips/fries, you should go elsewhere.

Room Tip: review refers to cafe only, I've never stayed in the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

They don't have a separate listing for " stirglings" so had to put this under the Evageline motel which includes the resto... We stopped by for a bowl of chowder and seafood.... pretty aweful. Used to eat here regularly from childhood. I guess the 2006 rennovation took out what it was always know for: great homemade local food, good value and well done. Chowder was hot milk with dry seafood... Knew Marg Striling well... she would never serve such disappointing poor food...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila M, Owner at Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc., responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello, Aaron B!

I would like to start by apologizing for your less than satisfactory experience. We are quite disappointed to hear that your seafood chowder was not pleasing. It is a new item we have added to our menu this year; we have had great success with it thus far and always encourage feedback. I do hope that you expressed your disappointment to our staff at the time of your visit and that they were attentive to and dealt with your complaint appropriately. If they did not, I do welcome you to email us at eimi@eastlink.ca so we may address how our staff deals with complaints. I would like to assure you that it is true that much has changed since Marjorie Stirling’s time but we, the Stirling family, continue to strive for the same standards of quality. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our weekend stay at the Evangeline Inn. The motel was clean and very comfortable. I also like their café, it's fun to eat there, the food is decent and the prices are very reasonable. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and I would definitely stay there again. I didn't have the opportunity to check out the pool, maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'the world
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great room; good beds and adjoining bath facilities. The hotel had a small laundry and a terrific little café, just right for lunch and dessert. The location could not be better. We spent some time in the Historic Grand Pré site; toured and tasted at the Domaine de Grand Pré; found the right spots for watching this end of the Fundy Bay tides; and had a good lobster dinner in Hall's Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pictograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We live in the area and always forget about this as a breakfast spot.

Good solid, fresh, breakfast food. We had omelettes, which were fresh and filled with meat, cheese and veggies. I liked that they had multi-grain toast.

We were disappointed that there were no potatoes included and none available.

It's a nice, bright dining room. Service was friendly, relaxed and attentive, and everything was spotless. Perfect for families, travellers, and people who don't want to spend a fortune on a basic breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've been eating at the Evangeline's restauarant for years. It is always a highlight of our Nova Scotia vacations. The fish chowder is the best ever, full of fish and not too heavy, and served with a home made scone. The lobster sandwiches are generous and fresh, and not over dressed with mayo. Make sure to save room for the home made desserts. The fruit pies are delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnMike19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Pre
5.1 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#4 of 10 in Wolfville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
2.5 mi away
Gaspereau Valley Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.

Property: Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.
Address: 11668 1 Hwy | P.O. Box 4, Grand Pre, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Grand Pre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Pre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc. Grand Pre, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing