We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ALT Hotel Halifax Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eco-Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel within walking distance of the terminal. This hotel was recently built and it's the only hotel at the Halifax Stanfield Airport that doens't require a shuttle bus. The staff is young and friendly. The rooms are modern and clean. The bed and linen are beyond comfortable (100% egyptian cotton).The lighting in the room works with your door key so that it's only on when you're in the room to make it more energy efficient. The toiletries are stored in bottles which they refill everyday instead of having those mini bottles of lotion, shampoo, etc. In the lobby they have a nice lounge area with a bar, pool table and seating area for socializing. My only dissapointment with this hotel was the lack of a restaurant. In the lobby area next to the bar, they have a grab-and-go system with pre-made, pre-package food to be heat up in a microwave or oven. You can either eat it there or bring it to your room. After a long day of traveling I wished to have enjoyed a nice cooked dinner. They have sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. This is all good if you want to have a quick snack. But if you want to have a nice dinner your only option is to go inside the terminal to the Maritime Restaurant. Overall I enjoyed my stay but wished they had a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    256
    62
    13
    7
See reviews for
175
309
82
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just recently opened I have already stayed twice. Connected to YHZ terminal by a moving pedway and to the car rental garage by elevator it is particularly great for those with early am flights as it is only a leisurely five minute walk to the International desks and less to the domestic.

The rooms are modern, well appointed and completely insulated from airport noise. WiFi is free and fast. There are USB charging plug-ins on the desks. The room appointments is modern or European with lots of area for luggage.

The lobby is efficient with a bar and food available 24 hours per day. It lacks sale of toiletries for those that forget. Boarding passes can be printed in the lobby. The staff are efficient and polite. They are all very helpful.

I have already booked again in two weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck33907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Extremely convenient location (walk across the pedestrian bridge and you are in the airport) but lacking in the finer details which I have come to expect at a hotel. The queen bed sized room was adequate. The hotel is new (opened very recently) - however the quality of the building materials (think IKEA modular furniture) will, in my opinion, not age well. For a hotel that opened recently, I the room (particularly the bathroom where the much of the building materials was white melamine) had quite a few scuff marks. There was no brochure in the room to describe the hotel amenities (i.e. pool, location of ice machines, etc.) Nothing huge.... nothing that should deter you from the hotel per say... but for the price... I expect a little more from a hotel - other than a small room with a convenient location.... especially in Halifax.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyFoodieLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the new ALT hotel at the Halifax Stanfield International Airport last weekend. The staff are well trained and very friendly. The location can't be beat if you're travelling. You are a pedway away from the airport. Super convenient! The hotel has extreemly comfortable beds, plugins for your computer and iPod to charge and is environmentally friendly. There are no take home bottles of shampoo because they are fixed in the bathroom permanently. No garbage to be wasted there. The lights won't work unless your key is put in the slot by the door. Energy efficient!. The hotel is decorated beautifully with fireplaces and colourful art everywhere. It's very trendy also very welcoming to children! There are no coffee makers in the rooms because its offered fresh at the cafe in the lobby for free. The cafe has a great selection of to go items that are healthy and also a big sweet selection. Fresh croissants were available to purchase for breakfast. There is no restaurant in the hotel but if you go to the airport there is one there. There is a very small pool in the hotel but not big enough to do laps in, just unwind. There isn't a lot for kids to do in this hotel but if they are bored there is a games room in the airport! Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the runway. Amazing views and no noise issues. The room is very soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfwave01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a must stay! so close to the airport! we arrived so late and decided to stay! Nina at the front desk was so very friendly and very welcoming! We went down to the bar for a night cap and Monique the bartender was like talking to your sister! FUN! The room was very Metro chic! I loved it! a very romantic shower! and the pool area and exercise room was very modern with high tech equipment! The bed was very comfy! You must stay here at least one night just for the relaxation!

Room Tip: any room they are all very well built.. I never heard a plane!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, General Manager at ALT Hotel Halifax Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Leanne R,

Thank you for the great review. Our entire team appreciated the feedback, especially Nina and Monique. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to have you stay at the ALT Hotel in the future. Once again, thank you for the great review.

Mark Schaay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heteren
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very nice (new and modern) hotel, but most important: very friendly and helpfull staff.
Besides that very convenient located ON the airport (not near, with a shuttle).
Recommendable!

And AGAIN, because this text has to be at least 200 ch. (stupid!)
Very nice (new and modern) hotel, but most important: very friendly and helpfull staff.
Besides that very convenient located ON the airport (not near, with a shuttle).
Recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I would like to thank the friendly staff at the alt hotel at the stand field international airport for the best night stay in a hotel I have had in a while. They were always there to help and they gave you some insight in to the hotels history there was a pool table that my husband loved and great food and service. The rooms were amazing the bed was so comfy I could have slept all day. I would highly recommend this place if you are flying in or out of the airport very easy access to the airport from the hotel. The hotel has some very neat things in it like the furniture for the lounge. I hope everyone goes here and has the best stay of your life like I did I will for sure going back if its just for a night away or the night before I fly out

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily2895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 1 in Fall River
274 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALT Hotel Halifax Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALT Hotel Halifax Airport

Property: ALT Hotel Halifax Airport
Address: 40 Silver Dart Dr, Enfield, Nova Scotia B2T 1K2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ALT Hotel Halifax Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located next to Halifax Stanfield International Airport, the hotel is well connected by a covered pedestrian walkway. Business and leisure travellers will find excellent accommodation, impeccable design and cozy comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ALT Hotel Halifax Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALT Hotel Halifax Airport Enfield, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing