We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel but no restaurants nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Halifax Airport
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I was catching a very early flight from Halifax so moved from downtown Halifax to the HI Express for the night before my flight (actually about 8PM to 4AM the next morning). Here's a tip: take the Airporter bus to the airport for $18, then take the free HI Express shuttle from the airport to the hotel. It runs every half hour and sure beats paying $60 for a cab direct from downtown! The room was quiet and comfortable, fine for the short time I was there. As for dinner, however, I have to say their website is very misleading. I thought there were places nearby as the site says several restaurants are in an 'adjacent plaza'. Well, there's nothing within walking distance except the restaurant in the Hilton Garden Inn next door! Highly misleading. I ended up with an expensive small pizza delivered by a local place that tacked on an extra delivery charge. Not a huge deal, but if I had known I would have eaten in Halifax or even grabbed a sandwich at the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amaklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 473 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

I booked a room at this hotel using my airmiles so I didn't expect much since it was free. Was I surprised! Our flight arrived at 11pm and the hotel had a free shuttle waiting for us to bring us to the hotel. We checked in quickly and were told by the staff member (he was in training) that since it was a quiet evening and we looked so tired, he upgraded us for free to a suite. Imagine that!

The beds were AMAZING...big, firm but fluffy and the sheets smelled so good. The wake up service called exactly when they were suppose to and the free continental breakfast was yummy. This hotel is a gem and I can't wait to stay there again.

I have no idea if the location is convenient to anything in Halifax as we used it as our layover hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Normally we use holiday Inn Express hotels, as we have found them to be clean, efficient etc. This is also usually the case with holiday Inn Express at Enfield, close to the airport. On our outward bound trip, the hotel was all we expected, However upon entering the room a few days ago, we felt the pillows looked used. On further inspection, they were covered with black hairs. We called the front desk and the manager brought us new pillow covers. A couple of hours later, we thought to check the sheets - just in case, and they too were covered with black hairs. My husband's feet then crunched on something on the floor, and it was covered in pretzels, which indicated the floor had not even been vacuumed. When I took a shower, the shower door fell right off (we had this problem also the first time we stayed there) Very dangerous, as the door is heavy and coud have seriously hurt a child. i was making my way to the front desk, when I met the head housekeeper, so I asked her to come see the room. She was very nice and very apologetic and said she had personally inspected the room and 'missed' the problems we showed her! She told us she knew the bed linens had been changed (???) and that they had new girls in training, and also they were having a problem at the laundry with hair sticking to the sheets. I fell this is totally disgusting, and wonder why they cannot check with other hotels to see how they manage this problem. Who wants to get ready to step into a bed that is covered with someone else's hair. Although i generally like Holiday Inns, I would seriously hesitate to return to this particular hotel next year, and will definitely return to the Hilton Garden at the airport, which is a beautiful hotel and very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalebMicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

I had a flight leaving at 6:30am, so I booked a night at this hotel so I wouldn't have to drive over 30 minutes to get to this hotel. I also left my car there, which cost $10 a week. The hotel was very clean and looked nice inside and out. The room was spacious and had a nice Flat Screen TV. I've been to hotels with Flat Screen TV's before, however this is the first hotel I've stayed at which actually had HD(High Definition) programming. I was impressed.
The bed was comfortable, and no complaints.

I found the shuttle in the morning to be slow, and the driver less than friendly. That was my only downside.

I would stay here again for early morning flights only. :)

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pilotboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We were staying at this hotel close to the airport in commencement of a week long vacation and the room and service were excellent. It was the best accommodations on our vacation! The staff was friendly. The shuttle service to the airport (and back when we got home - we left our car at the hotel) was excellent and so convenient. The room was of an extremely high quality. We took advantage of the saltwater pool on site for a relaxing swim. Although there is not a restaurant on site, the hotel has arrangements with a near by restaurant for delivery. Menus are in the room and getting dinner delivered was easy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we were very happy with our decision to stay at the hotel, it made our early morning flight less difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travel4funHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Staff was very friendy and helpful and the room was beautiful. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. We had an early morning flight to Vegas and it worked out perfect for us with the shuttle.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bayport37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We chose this location as it was close to the Halifax Stanfield airport. It was pricey ($199 per night for a suite) but we enjoyed the luxury after staying in budget accommodations all week.

It was a little tricky to find but it was worth it.

The hotel is new and everything is still immaculate. The room had 2 queen beds (with 4 pillows each and a duvet) and a sofabed. We were three adults who did not want to share a bed. The countertops in the kitchenette and bathroom were granite. There was ample coffee available to make in the little coffee maker. The breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon, biscuits, English muffins, a variety of cereals, yogourt, bagels, cinnamon rolls, coffee and juice. The Globe and Mail was available each morning.

If I were in the area again and wanted to pamper myself, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rowdygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Halifax Airport
2.2 mi away
ALT Hotel Halifax Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Halifax Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 1 in Fall River
285 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
16.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Halifax Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Halifax Airport

Address: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Halifax Airport 180 Pratt & Whitney Dr, Enfield, Nova Scotia B2T 0C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Enfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range: $115 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Halifax Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites at the Halifax Airport. Convenience, courtesy and cost-efficiency are three of the main priorities at our Halifax Airport hotel. We are dedicated to assuring your stay is a pleasurable one. Our Halifax hotel is conveniently located near the Robert Stanfield International Airport (5 km). Our Halifax hotel provides you with a free airport shuttle, and Park, Stay and Go packages include parking. The Aerotech Park, Air Canada, Enterprise Car Rental and IMP Corp are all nearby, making this hotel convenient for completing your airline-related business. There's no need to leave the premises to conduct your next meeting--try our well-equipped meeting room with natural lighting. There's plenty to do and see during your stay in Halifax. We're home to North America's oldest, continually operating salt-water ferry that connects Halifax and Dartmouth. You can visit the Oakfield Country Club for golf or jump aboard the Harbour Hopper Land and Sea Tour. If you prefer to explore, make sure you visit the Halifax Citadel, which chronicles the city's role as an important military base and Canada's emergence from colony to nation. Relaxation doesn't require you to go outside; it can take place right on-site. Our Halifax hotel features an indoor heated mineral pool with a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Halifax Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Halifax Airport
Holiday Inn Express Enfield
Enfield Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Airport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Halifax Airport Enfield, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing