We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming waterside pub - restaurant”

Rope Loft Dining Room
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“A charming waterside pub - restaurant”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We dined on the delightful wharf deck until the sun set and then licked off to the cozy confines of this ancient charmer with embattled rough-hewn walls tilting like a schooner under full sail. The service was fine and the food was standard wholesome pub fare – OK but don’t expect gourmet cuisine. We had just got into the taste of their Guinness when the keg ran dry – unforgivable in an olde English pub. It’s worth visiting for the setting and ambience alone but there are probably better places to dine in Chester and they need to work on their inventory management.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    77
    21
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food in Great surroundings”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited this wonderful old pub on our way to Peggy's Cove on a beautiful sunny morning in September. It was busy- always a good sign - but we found a table on the decking overlooking the harbour ; the staff, although run off their feet, remained calm and cheerful and produced some very welcome drinks with only slight delay; the lunch was excellent, especially the seafood chowder which one of our party of 4 had; the fish was also excellent as was the Caesar salad. The inside of the pub was wonderfully atmospheric- although we just walked through , we could imagine great evenings of food , drink and bonhomie. The' washrooms' were named Buoys and Mermaids in tribute presumably to the seaside location - might I suggest Buoys and Gulls instead??!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fan40ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“halifax yachters don't no nuffing”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

although we didn't have chowder (my mate jim again didn't come with us) we did enjoy our seafood - calamari, prawns in coconut, and more solomon grundy (who he? ed.) than a sane person could possibly eat. my mate jim's wife sue (who is also my sister, and made up the fourth person in our party) had guiness pie with a crust to rival Mars. all the locals liked my pa. all we can say to those people who don't like the rope loft is hoopla hoopla.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flameondontinterrupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolute best haddock Chowder ever”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our recent visit to the Rope Loft Dining Room started from us wanting to see Nova Scotia's oldest still operating commercial business as was described in a tourist brochure. However upon entering a server passed by with several bowels of seafood chowder that had our stomachs immediately growling. While normally a little early for a meal we decided to give the Haddock Seafood Chowder a try and Wow were we ever glad we did. Bowls brimming with Haddock, potatoes and onions in a light cream the menu said and what a wonderful meal that was. Coming from the West coast where seafood chowders are abundant I can say this was the best we have ever tasted. Our window seating over looked the harbour and we enjoyed our to food the sound an fury of a storm from the Atlantic while our friendly server helped us with questions about the locale and places to see. A memorable experience all around that left a warm glow in and out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food on a stormy day”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were seeking any port in the tropical storm that hit the South Shore and came upon the Rope Loft pub. We scurried in and we were the only guests for lunch. At the server's recommendation, I ordered the seafood chowder and my husband had the fishcakes. The chowder was amazing--flavourful broth, lots of perfectly cooked shrimp, mussels, scallops and fish. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the fish cakes, accompanied by baked beans and chow. The pub felt cosy and warm, a retreat from the storm with great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burnabytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rope Loft Dining Room also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester Basin, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Rope Loft Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing