We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated Decor Always great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kiwi Cafe

The Kiwi Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Updated Decor Always great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you're in Chester and want a wonderful little cafe to people watch, read the paper or have a really great soup, this is the place. The deck is wonderful and the staff are attentive. Only place to get a cappucino in town. Have the breakfast sandwich. Great deal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    53
    4
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
402 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot with Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We loved this place! It obviously is a local hang-out favored by the discriminating residents of this charming affluent community. The food was delightful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The toasted bagel with smoked salmon, cream cheese etc a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The food is really good with a local twist on ingredients and flavours. It is bright and cheerful. When I am on vacation I kind of travel at a leisurly pace so I cannot really comment on the speed of the wait staff. To me it seemed average.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Kiwi Cafe - we'll serve you when we feel like it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is my first review on Trip Advisor but felt this potential gem of a restaurant needed a wake up call before it sinks too low to recover.
Firstly, the food is good. Real good - simple, honest, cooked to order with fresh, local ingredients, and a unique twist on flavours, The kitchen team seem to care.
Secondly, the restaurant itself is charming with a quirky side which matches the food. I particularly liked the old trivia cards on each table, and the outdoor deck is ideal on a sunny day.
But oh my, who came up with this definition of 'service'? I'm not sure which dictionary they subscribe to but it must say something like this: let the customer linger uncomfortably at the counter before they feel compelled to interrupt your conversation with your colleague; tell them to find their own table and make sure they understand they are an inconvenience to your socialising; take their order and try and smile politely if you can see through your hangover from last night's party; take another sip of your energy drink and try not to think about how irritating your paying customers are; when food hasn't arrived for 45 mins (this is a cafe not a fine dining experience...) and they politely enquire, tell them it has nothing to do with you and is the kitchen's fault; above all else, never apologise.
This place has the raw ingredients to provide a warm, welcoming and unique cafe experience but is let down abysmally by its front of house staff. I'm not surprised to see other reviews reference this and I will not be surprised if people stop coming back if they don't address the growing discontent.
I should however point out that one of the more experienced servers appeared to be aware of the issues and was trying her best to keep things running smoothly. But with a service team like that, her efforts were in vain. If only everyone cared as much as she did.
Good luck in turning things around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JLLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My book club was on a day trip to the Chester playhouse. We reserved a table at the restaurant directly across the road, the Kiwi Cafe, for lunch. The restaurant inside is very cheery with bright painted walls. The day was sunny & warm, so we sat out on the deck. We all ordered the Thai fish cakes. They were very tasty, as was the accompanying simple green salad. We had a lemon square for dessert--totally worth the calories! The food is very fresh, local and healthily prepared. Turns out some of the cast of the TV series Haven which is being filmed here (based on a Stephen King book) were seated beside us and obviously enjoying the Chester way of life.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simply_novascotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kiwi Cafe also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester Basin, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Kiwi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing