We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mecklenburgh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mecklenburgh Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“charming”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This lovely little inn is charming annd very well located. It is in the heart of one of the most beautiful areas of Nova Scotia, while not being in the middle of the tourist centers. The best part of the inn is the innkeeper herself. Suzi is warm and welcoming and a top notch cook. Count on an electic and finely prepared breakfast!

All this said we faced two challenges. The beds were way too soft for our taste. And secondly, the inn is next to the tiny town post office, where deliveries occur in the wee hours of the morning and can wake you up. I slept soundly through it, but my husband found him self wide awake in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 1 night in Chester and loved the Mecklenburgh. Rooms are comfy, spotlessly clean and well equipped with toiletries, soft yummy sheets and towels and even a teddy on the bed. Both the upstairs and downstairs balconies are great places to relax or socialise. Suzi was very welcoming and chatty and it was more like we were staying with a friend. Breakfast was cooked by Suzi and was fresh, healthy and delicious and it was fun and social to all sit around her dining table. We would definitely recommend staying at the Mecklenburgh. Thanks Suzi yours was the best accommodation experience on our journey.
Pete and Jane from Australia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanefromOzTrailYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were traveling to Nova Scotia from New York and we did not put in the zip code in the GPS. Unfort. we ended in the wrong province late at night with our overtired 4 year old without any reservations in the area. Thankfully Suzi picked up the phone and we were led to a quaint artsy comfortable room. Her hospitality was fabulous and although our stay was not long( we had to get back on track with our road trip) we have fond memories of our getting lost fiasco. You will def. enjoy your stay at the Meklenberg Inn!

Room Tip: Take along a camera. Suzy has all these intresting knick knacks that you will def. want to take pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

casual, tasteful decor, wonderful imaginative breakfasts, an upstairs porch for relaxing, sophisticated in an unpretentious no-fuss way, comfortable beds, an old inn run by suzi, an energetic, attractive, down-to-earth sailor and chef who makes you feel right at home. the town is quiet, so there's not much to do but take a few walks around, admire the bays, and relax. one of my favorite b&b's and i've stayed in a lot of them.

Room Tip: we enjoyed a large room with queen bed and private bath on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiechouteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Let the ocean breeze wash away your worries as you relax in the hammock on the second floor deck at The Mecklenburgh Inn. Suzie is a wonderful host (cordon blue trained chef no less) and her attention to detail is second to none! "The Meck" is a true gem on the south shore of Nova Scotia and I look forward to my next visit.
MJ Banks

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We arrived at the Mecklenburgh Inn without a reservation - Suzi leaves a phone balanced on a music stand at the front door (which is always open). Written on a piece of paper is her phone # with instructions to call her if you need her. I did. Suzi showed us the Saddle Room - perfect - we stayed 2 nites.
A couple of things immediately resonated with me: door never locked (I wish this was the way of the world), a completely relaxed environment, homemade COOKIES in the tin in the sitting room, lots of books, games and CURRENT magazines. A great mix of old world sensibilities with 21st century requirements (Wi-Fi of course).
This is a phenomenally comfortable B n B: open, gracious, unique, clean, comes with a bike and lots of private sitting areas, good location. Parking abundant, pub down the hill (Fo'c'sle ), Rope Loft down the other side of the hill, liquor store nearby, Anglican church sort of kitty corner with a great grouping of ancient headstones out the back, Chester Yacht Club a massive 300 yard drive toward the sea. I can imagine this is the center of the universe from July to August.

Breakfast is from 0800-0900. Eat everything. Hearty coffee. The cat's name is Jetstream.

Room Tip: Saddle Room faces the post office. If you are an early riser (3-5am) pick this room. If not - avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I just got back from staying two nights at the Mecklenburgh Inn. I chose it based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. Highlights of our stay included sitting on the second floor balcony having tea while the rain poured down. But what I want to add to all the favourable comments is one on the attention to detail. There were lots of lamps in our room. There were ample toiletries, even toothbrushes. There was a night light in the bathroom. There was a candle with matches. Thank you suzie for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colchester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
11.9 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
214 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
7.1 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Surfside Inn
Surfside Inn
#1 of 1 in Queensland
94 reviews
11.5 mi away
Anchorage House & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecklenburgh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecklenburgh Inn

Property: Mecklenburgh Inn
Address: 78 Queen Street, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mecklenburgh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecklenburgh Inn Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing