We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BnB like no other”
Review of Mecklenburgh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mecklenburgh Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A BnB like no other”
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Let the ocean breeze wash away your worries as you relax in the hammock on the second floor deck at The Mecklenburgh Inn. Suzie is a wonderful host (cordon blue trained chef no less) and her attention to detail is second to none! "The Meck" is a true gem on the south shore of Nova Scotia and I look forward to my next visit.
MJ Banks

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
47
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We arrived at the Mecklenburgh Inn without a reservation - Suzi leaves a phone balanced on a music stand at the front door (which is always open). Written on a piece of paper is her phone # with instructions to call her if you need her. I did. Suzi showed us the Saddle Room - perfect - we stayed 2 nites.
A couple of things immediately resonated with me: door never locked (I wish this was the way of the world), a completely relaxed environment, homemade COOKIES in the tin in the sitting room, lots of books, games and CURRENT magazines. A great mix of old world sensibilities with 21st century requirements (Wi-Fi of course).
This is a phenomenally comfortable B n B: open, gracious, unique, clean, comes with a bike and lots of private sitting areas, good location. Parking abundant, pub down the hill (Fo'c'sle ), Rope Loft down the other side of the hill, liquor store nearby, Anglican church sort of kitty corner with a great grouping of ancient headstones out the back, Chester Yacht Club a massive 300 yard drive toward the sea. I can imagine this is the center of the universe from July to August.

Breakfast is from 0800-0900. Eat everything. Hearty coffee. The cat's name is Jetstream.

Room Tip: Saddle Room faces the post office. If you are an early riser (3-5am) pick this room. If not - avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I just got back from staying two nights at the Mecklenburgh Inn. I chose it based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. Highlights of our stay included sitting on the second floor balcony having tea while the rain poured down. But what I want to add to all the favourable comments is one on the attention to detail. There were lots of lamps in our room. There were ample toiletries, even toothbrushes. There was a night light in the bathroom. There was a candle with matches. Thank you suzie for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colchester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just back from a relaxing trip to Chester and area. Stayed at the Mecklenburg Inn and once again throughly enjoyed Suzie's company (the owner), the cleaniness of the rooms and the delicious breakfast the next day. My wife and I found this laid back Inn several years ago by fluke and have returned each year since just for the enjoyment we get from dropping in. The rooms are very clean, the deck overlooking the street is relaxing, the beds are comfortable and the waterfront is just a stroll away. I can easily recommend the Mecklenburg as a place to drop in and lay your head.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 1 night as part of a whirlwind tour of the Maritimes, and Mecklenburgh Inn was a last-minute choice, recommended to us by local friends so we knew going in it would be nice. Having stayed, we'd now recommend the Inn to anyone.
Great hostess! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is good, and Chester is a super town to visit.
Upsides - very pleasant and interesting owner, interesting house, lovely room.
Downsides - hmmm, maybe none...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2011

A quite beautiful maintained and decorated Inn/guest house situated in the small village of Chester Nova Scotia. What a real gem ! Breakfast is an occassion within its own rights !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

To say this is the very first time i have bothered to write a review of a place is enough in itself I hope. The mecklenburgh is a wonderful place to stay. They have thought of everything, the rooms are beautifully decorated, the bathrooms fully equipped, and just so clean. Suzi, the owner has really thought of everything, from scented sachets in your drawers to wonderful chocolate truffles in your room. The breakfasts were wonderful, different and exciting every day. I work as a chef, and I wantedto stay longer to sample more! You must try the home-made cookies. Honestly, this is one of the most thoughtful and best quality bed and breakfasts I have stayed in. Thank you Suzi

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carogaultier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
11.8 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
91 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
9.3 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecklenburgh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecklenburgh Inn

Property: Mecklenburgh Inn
Address: 78 Queen Street, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mecklenburgh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecklenburgh Inn Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing