We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and wonderful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We wanted to find a spot not too far from Halifax, but near the sea and we were delighted to spend 4 nights at Gray Gables in Chester. We enjoyed a downstairs room with large bathroom and walk-in closet and large window overlooking Mahone Bay. Hosts Jacqui and Dave are delightful hardworking people who strive to make their guests feel at home. BOTH of them are great cooks and took turns serving up delicious breakfasts featuring local fruit and berries and maple syrup. They were also very helpful in pointing us toward scenic spots to visit and top quality places to eat. We felt very much at home and told everybody we met on the reat of our trip about Gray Gables!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas-Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Gray Gables at the end of a wonderful two week visit to Nova Scotia - would recommend autumn as a great time to visit the Maritimes. This B & B was chosen based on the excellent reviews on the Trip Advisor website and it certainly did not disappoint. Our room was beautifully appointed - love the big soaker tub in the bathroom- and the view over Graves Island was spectacular. Dave's impressive breakfast lasted us until dinner in Halifax! A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRoy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Gray Gables is the ultimate in a B&B. Jacqui and Dave (the owners) are fabulous. Jacquie is the most amazing person and prepares an outstanding breakfast. If you want to eat healthy, you get a fruit, yogart, and granalo parfait with whole grain muffins, (delicious). For the hardier appetite, you get a breakfast prepared by a cordon bleu chef, can I say more. Dave, the gently giant is aroung part of the time and makes you feel sooo safe and totally at home. We hope to go back many times.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool, but there is a beach on the island in front of the property. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our three night stay in the Mermaid room was great!! (It's on the main floor so only two steps to get there). The B&B is beautifully appointed and the covered porch is lovely to sit on, rain or shine. Dave did an incredible job on breakfast!! Great walk to Graves Island Provincial Park right from the house. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anita k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at Gray Gables on several occasions either as a family of 4 or individually. It is always a wonderful stay when we are there. During the several times we have had the opportunity to stay in all of the three rooms in the house. All are lovely, very comfortable, with great views of Scotch Cove, the islands in Mahone Bay and the Aspotogan Peninsula. On a clear day the sunrise can be beautiful. Dave and Jacqui are wonderful hosts and really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Along with a room key, you also get a key to the front door which makes it easy to come and go without disturbing anyone. It is also nice to have some menu options for breakfast - you are given a form to order breakfast the night before. It is very close to Chester and is at the entrance to Graves Island Provincial Park. You can easily get to Halifax, Lunenburg, the Annapolis Valley and other places in Nova Scotia. You will enjoy your experience if you stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a wonderful spot. The location outside Chester is lovely. Amazing view and beautiful room. Jackie and Dave are so welcoming. Great breakfast by Dave. Hope we can come back. Would definately recommend Gray Gables.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrslarocque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

As a B&B owner myself, I am very picky when staying at a B&B.We recently went to a play and dinner in Chester and had reserved a room in this lovely B&B. Everything was topnotch, the food, the service the beautiful room. Was a really nice getaway. The view is amazing and the hostess,Jaqui was delightful. If you go to Chester this is a must stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwill8494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
13.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
259 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Surfside Inn
Surfside Inn
#1 of 1 in Queensland
97 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
97 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lighthouse Motel
Lighthouse Motel
#2 of 5 in Bridgewater
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Graves Island Rd, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our seaside getaway. A bed and breakfast experiences in Nova Scotia to remember!This spacious Cape Cod overlooks Majestic Mahone Bay and Graves Island Provincial Park. We offer the traveller a choice of three comfortable ocean view guest rooms. Centrally located 2 minutes from the Town of Chester on the Lighthouse Route of the South Shore. Many popular tourist destinations and attractions are within a leisurely 40 minutes or less. All Rooms include, Welcome Refreshments, Bath Robes and more...3 Beautiful oceanview rooms (Q,T), ensuite 4-pc bath. Full breakfast. Luxurious Cape Cod with large patio overlooking the ocean; picnic table. Close to beach, golf; 65 km to airport. Member: tians. Vs, mc.Open year-round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray Gables Bed And Breakfast Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing