We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Cranton's Cottages

Cranton's Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margaree Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cranton's Cottages
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great cabins, fully equipped with kitchen AND BBQ. These cabins are located in a great area, the owners are friendly and the prices are awesome !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NemmieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

very nice cottages... everything you need the only thing missing is your food....and service is rated poor cause there was no one at the office when we got there and no one when we left still din't pay for my nigth stay so??? who knows how they work

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this cottage for three nights and decided to forego the more popular Cheticamp area for a quieter and less 'touristy' region on cape breton, Margaree proved to be an excellent and centrally located site on the island to allow us quick access to all points on the cabot trail. When it was nice weather, it was only a 45 minute drive to the cheticamp area to access the hiking trails in the cape breton national park. Then on a rainy day it was only another 45 minute drive to explore the cute village of Baddeck and check out the Bell museum.

My husband and I rented a one bedroom and were very pleased to have a spacious and very clean cottage for our stay. We had fresh towels, fresh linens and a full kitchen for our dinner preparations. Also on site is a main building with a pay phone and laundry facilities. We felt very comfortable in this roomy little cottage and slept very soundly at night.

We didn't get much of a chance to interact with the owners of the facility, but what interactions we did have allowed us to see that these are very nice and warm people.

This was excellent value for your stay. For what you would pay for a cramped motel room in Cheticamp, you can have a full, pretty cottage all to yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaindough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Have stayed at Cranton Cottages for several years now and after staying at some of the other local cabins and hotels nothing beats this location and accomodations. Cabins are always clean, quiet and close to and centrally located on the river. The owner Gordon is very polite and cordual. Always look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireeater69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

The cottages looked like they were placed floating on a green sea. They were more like "mini-houses". The Margaree River flowed nearby.

The owners were very personable and attentive, more like an aunt and uncle team. The rates were incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaughterofTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

Went to Cape Breton in late July and we stayed at Cranton Cottages in beautiful Margaree Valley. We had a wonderful time the week we stayed at the cottage, it was a 2 bedroom cottage. Cottage was very clean and each cottage has a barbecue and fire pit for late night marshmallows. Cottage was excellent, felt very homey, may not be saying that right but it was not like a hotel room, you feel like its your own cottage.

Kids enjoyed the playground and swimming in the Margaree River, just a short walk away from the cottages. The bridge which you can see from the cottage has a slow moving deep pool for swimming, water was very clean but really cold if its not sunny out! From the cottage we went to different locations all about a half hour drive away, Baddeck , Inverness , Margaree Harbour Beach (a secret beach before the bridge, make sure you go at low tide), and Cheticamp.

The other review i read mentioned the Fahey pool, a beautiful salmon pool which has alot of fisherman trying there luck at catching the big one. Met the person the pool was named after and he was very nice to let me fish in front of his cottage at the bottom of the pool, no luck though.

There is something special about Margaree Valley, your surrounded by beautiful steep green mountains, it is a wonderful place and our cottage was right in the middle of it. My uncle says his cottage in northern B.C. is gods country, well Margaree Valley is certainly on that list as well.

Stayed: July 2006
7  Thank mooser1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2005

We have been going to Cranton Cottages in the Margaree Valley for the past three years. They are superb - clean, comfortable, well-equipped, and really delightful for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. The cottages are situated next to one of the Margaree River's best salmon pools (Fahey's Pool), and since the Margaree is Nova Scotia's premier salmon river that is talking! There are superb restaurants and scenic drives all around the cottages, as well as a fresh lobster market in the beautifully situated Belle Cote Harbour (try the snow crab too). Hiking, whale-watching, excellent salmon and trout guides, traditional music of Irish, Scottish and French/Acadian varieties, are all readily available.

16  Thank dolphinfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaree Valley
5.5 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
167 reviews
26.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Normaway Inn & Cabins
The Normaway Inn & Cabins
#1 of 4 in Margaree Valley
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salmon Pool Inn
Salmon Pool Inn
#1 of 5 in Margaree Harbour
12 reviews
6.3 mi away
Big Intervale Fishing Lodge
Big Intervale Fishing Lodge
#2 of 4 in Margaree Valley
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranton's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranton's Cottages

Address: Margaree Centre, Margaree Valley, Nova Scotia B0E 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Margaree Valley
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cranton`s Cottages Hotel Margaree Valley
Cranton's Cottages Margaree Valley, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing