We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stop”

Glenora Inn and Distillery
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Mabou
Attraction details
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We did not stop for lunch or the tour, but did enjoy wandering the grounds and perusing the gift shop. It is a nice little break from a long road trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WesRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    65
    33
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tour and pub”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped for the tour and stayed for lunch. I had wanted to do this tour the last time we were in Cape Breton but timing didn't work out so it was top of list this trip. Very happy to have made the stop to take in the tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny too. Taste test at the end of the tour. Decided to stay for lunch, there were local musicians and we were quite happy with our food. Picked up some whiskey honey in the gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so service, interesting distillery visit”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Watch out: they do not let people in the distillery for tours other than in July and August so plan accordingly so you don't get disappointed


Beautiful setting and I could see the inn being a nice place to stay: the food i nice and tasting the various whiskies could make for an interesting evening.

The service was on the slow side (arguably this was a very busy day for them and the waiter himself did recognize that things had been on the hectic side)

All in a great experience even though I would have like to know before turning up that this had only been operating for twenty plus years.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Chuck_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard, Vermont
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The only Single Malt produced Nova Scotia”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A fun visit for the novice Single Malt admirer...an interesting attraction with very good accommodations and a terrific restaurant. Excellent food with an outstanding bar. Barmaid is the best of the best with terrific conversation, a great attitude with warm and friendly service...a must to visit.
We made it a destination just to discover the single malt production and quality, of course, the only true Single malt is made in Scotland but you won't be disappointed if you drink the 17 year old!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 724Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A great attraction in the most unlikely location except when you take the tour. The guide explains that it's the water of the brook and the surrounding woods that give this little distillery it's remarkable charm and give the whiskey it's smooth flavour.

I've never been on a distillery tour but this one is small enough, (30 min), to understand the distinct differences between Scotch, Bourbon, and Whiskey as well as many other spirits.

Take the tour and stay for dinner, make sure you have reservations for the dining room.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frankly2Honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenora Inn and Distillery also viewed

 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Glenora Inn and Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing