We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's Isaac?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 7 Mabou B&B and Inns
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where's Isaac?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked this b and b after reading other glowing reviews. We arrived about 5pm to an empty house. After looking around we spotted a note taped to a window saying that the owner was away, but would return the next morning. Our key was left on the kitchen table and the note also instructed anyone else that might arrive to select an empty room. Our room which was nicely furnished, similar to other maritime b and bs. 4 rooms shared 2 full bathrooms. The bathrooms were clean but there was an odd assortment of leftover shampoos, conditioners, lotions and toothpastes left from previous guests and 1 shared bar of soap. At about 10 pm we turned off the lights, shut the doors and went to bed. We weren't sure whether or not to let the cats in or out. Kathy was there in the morning and served a nice continental breakfast. She was very nice and shared some information about the area. Isaac had still not arrived. When we returned that evening there was still no host but, a full house of guests. We left after breakfast the next day without meeting the host. When booking accommodations I look not only at the facilities but at what makes the place special. Having to caretake the house for the evening was not what I had in mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Clayton Farm's proprietor, Isaac Smith, is an unassuming, charming, self-effacing farmer who was born just a couple miles away from the farm that he and his wife turned into a BnB decades ago. The farm has been in his family five generations, and the BnB reflects that history in the random sepia photos of his relations, the great old books on every shelf and table, and all the truly authentic knick-knacks, old magazines, drawings, photos, and items that reflect this ceilidh area of Cape Breton.

The wooden steps are worn, but the bathrooms are brand new. The windows and doors are open and the fresh breeze blows through the huge old house from front to back. The farm cats, Red and Chippy, are friendly, fat, soft and purry! The huge red angus herd is loud and curious and gentle, which you'll find out if you take a walk through Isaac's back pastures to the sea. Ever seen a cow graze on seaweed? Believe it! Oh! Get to the farm before dark so you can go see sunset over Mabou Harbor. Just an amazing place.

Isaac has a way with words, is a good story-teller, and knows Mabou and its countryside like few others you could ever meet. If you're lucky, he'll head off to the Shoe the same time you do for a meal and an ale while the villagers jam on the fiddle, piano, guitar, and bagpipe. If you want a place on the Ceilidh Trail, talk to Isaac.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siulaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband & I and our friend stayed at Clayton Farms which was our first experience staying at a farm B & B. We enjoyed it immensely. The farm house is like a living museum full of interesting antiques beautifully laid out. Isaac is a warm man who has many stories to tell of his family's history. His red Angus cattle are lovely & the setting is very peaceful. You do have to go up a long stair case to get to the 4 bedrooms & there are 2 bathrooms that are shared. Kathy who comes in to do the cooking does a great home cooked breakfast. We all sat around the kitchen table & shared experiences. The location is close to the town of Mabou & not out of the way but you get to have an authentic farm experience for those who might enjoy this

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I've never stayed on a farm B & B before, and it was a fun experience. Everything stated in the other reviews is true--our friendly host Isaac was very interesting to talk to and we loved wandering around the farm, looking at all the cattle and playing with the cats. The accommodations were very nice--a very large and clean room, tastefully decorated in country B & B style. Four rooms share 2 bathrooms (there was not a sink in our room as you sometimes find in B & B's)--it was not a problem--it truly is living in a very old, well kept farmhouse. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful, especially the homemade granola and rhubarb jam! My husband and I really enjoyed a unique stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our host, Isaac Smith, is a fine Innkeeper: warm, friendly, and attentive to the needs of his guests. Located on a working farm, the B&B is a large home that has been in Mr. Smith's family for generations. The accomodations are spacious, immaculate and tastefully decorated. Clayton Farm offers an extremely tranquil setting, if that is your reason for visiting the West Coast of CBI, while Mabou is the home of the region's reknown Scots/Irish musicians. Isaac is an accomplished cattle breeder and happily encourages guests to visit his barns, corrals and feedlots. He also is a wellspring of local knowledge, which we found quite fascinating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Isaac was a warm and welcoming host. Would have loved more time to talk with him. Kathy is a wonderful cook. Breakfast was fresh fruit and homemade granola, muffins and scones. The working farm is gorgeous. Our kids loved running through the fields. The cats are super friendly. The rooms are clean, comfortable and full of antiques. My bird fanatic husband had a successful and satisfying bird walk on the property which sprawls to the ocean. Wish we could have stayed longer. Red Shoe Pub is just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Wonderful stay at Clayton Farm. I felt like I was home, it was such a welcoming wonderful place. We stayed at Clayton Farm at the beginning of our trip and at the end again since I wanted one more night in a big warm welcome farmhouse. Take a walk down the lane towards the ocean and experience the wonderful surprise of seeing the ocean after meandering along the laneway. For someone like me who dreams of living on a farm just like this, staying at Clayton Farm was a treat. Cathy made our breakfast on our first visit and I was sorry she wasn't there when we returned. I dream about her granola. Everything about Clayton Farm was perfect. I was sorry we had to leave. I would have liked to spend the day and meet the cows, sit on the swing between the trees, enjoy the wonderful porch and view, and just while away the day listening to some of Isaac's stories. Anyone who stays here is in for a treat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katje59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
23.6 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
65.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.4 mi away
Mabou River Inn
Mabou River Inn
#1 of 7 in Mabou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
7.2 mi away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
6.8 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11247 Hwy. 19, Mabou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast Mabou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing