We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love The Rankins- loved The Shoe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Shoe Pub

The Red Shoe Pub
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mabou
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We stumbled accross this place this past Saturday, which was the day after it had opened for the season. They are only open from June until October. It is very quaint, and it has the very best seafood chowder of anyplace we found in Nova Scotia or PEI. The waiter was super nice to our group, and honest in admitting he had only started the day before, and hadn't tried all the items on the menu yet. He went back to the chef on a couple of occasions to ask if he could change a menu item for us (which they did), and was very attentive to our lunchtime needs. This is a really good restaurant and should be added to Trip Advisor. Thanks, John Ward Smith
Level Contributor
408 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Love The Rankins- loved The Shoe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I think I own every Rankin CD, so when I knew that it was owned by the two Sisters, we had to go! Ma out is a beautiful Village. Went during 'Kitchen Fest' live free music 5-7 and cover charge for music after 9, great options! The menu was varied and delicious selections, great dinner, followed by a homemade tart, warm and served with ice-cream! Great local beers on tap and excellent coffee following our meal! Loved the atmosphere, lots of Rankin photos. The placed was full, plus the patio. Great service! A must do when in the area! Loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MASH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    185
    56
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Must See, Taste, and Hear!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I looked at some of the other reviews. You will see that most are excellent. I cannot image anything other than excellent. Let me explain.

I missed going here two years ago while passing through so it was a must this time through. First, the music will be a local pair or more playing traditional Cape Breton music. If that's what you are looking for then you MUST go.

After reading the reviews, I did not have great expectations for the food. However THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING! My wife (who does not eat seafood) had the chicken breast stuffed with spinach and cream cheese, bacon and sun dried tomato. It was really well balanced and delicious. It also cam with herb polenta fries! They were outstanding and I am still trying to figure out how they were made!! My mother/father-in-law and I all had the fish and chips with a side of Mabou Seafood Chowder. The F&C were really good. However, the chowder WAS THE BEST I EVER HAD! I see that there was one reviewer a while back who said it was so-so. Well I am NOT easily impressed. On my 17 day vacation, I had 10 different chowders - this was the best. Two things in particular: First, the cup was full of seafood (lobster, mussel, scallops, shrimp, and haddock) and (2) the broth was exceptional (little to no flour added) that I am recalling even as I write this three weeks later. The both had a nice mixture of cream, milk, and water from the lobster/clam/etc. pot. No need to add any salt, though I did add a little pepper - omg ...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MacPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vail, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great evening - food, company, music, beer - all great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived to the Mabou River Inn and walked here. We arrived at 8:55 to a very crowded place (kitchen closes at 9) and were sat at a 4 top with 2 other people. We were fine with that after a long day of travel. The couple we sat next to were from Dallas, and we are from Boston. We didn't talk politics but did enjoy the music.
The food was actually awesome. I had the halibut special and my friend had the trout. The beer was excellent, service good - it was packed as it was the first night of kitchenfest and they had a great fiddler and keyboardist...they just jammed! They played until midnight. We walked back to the Mabou River Inn and crashed! A great night. We hiked in the Mabou Highlands the next day and all in all it was a great day 1 of a trip on the Cabot Trail. I would definitely go back and wish I had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goreranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great music and nice food and awesome beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Red show ale was excellent, music between 5-7 was wonderful, food was good (clubhouse), cozy atmosphere

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Taste of a Ceilidh Music and a Bite of a Local Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Visitors go there not for the food, but for the music...
First, the food...not bad, it is a Pub food... So figure out.
The music... Few tips:
#1 Check the type of music and the musicians (players)... Go to there website for schedule: http://www.redshoepub.com/
#2 Some nights have entry/cover charge ($8 per person), depends on music
#3 it is small Pub ( accommodates about 60-70 persons)., so for a seat, and a better seat... Come at the beginning of the music session ( see website schedule)

For me I picked a Sunday afternoon ( 4:30pm) with Ceilidh music played by a professional; Glenn Graham, had a local beer, one appetizer, stayed for 1.5 hour... Enjoyed it and left with a new experience .
If you are in the area, plan to attend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Shoe Pub also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
 
Birch Plain, Cape Breton Island
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Red Shoe Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing