We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Shoe Serves Up Great Food & Great Entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Shoe Pub

The Red Shoe Pub
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mabou
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We stumbled accross this place this past Saturday, which was the day after it had opened for the season. They are only open from June until October. It is very quaint, and it has the very best seafood chowder of anyplace we found in Nova Scotia or PEI. The waiter was super nice to our group, and honest in admitting he had only started the day before, and hadn't tried all the items on the menu yet. He went back to the chef on a couple of occasions to ask if he could change a menu item for us (which they did), and was very attentive to our lunchtime needs. This is a really good restaurant and should be added to Trip Advisor. Thanks, John Ward Smith
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Shoe Serves Up Great Food & Great Entertainment!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stopped by The Red Shoe in Mabou last night, to take in the KitchenFest as well as enjoy a meal. There were 3 of us in the party and we all had fabulous meals. I had the salmon, Mom and Auntie enjoyed the meatloaf. Portions were more than enough and the taste was out of this world! After letting our meals settle, and while taking in the famous CB fiddle music and entertainment, we enjoyed our desserts. Auntie and I had the Chocolate Sticky Date Pudding and Mom had the seasonal fruit tart. Washed all that down with tasty coffee and enjoyed the rest of the evening with a nice bottle of merlot. The Red Shoe has it all. Great food, friendly staff and most evenings, you can find some great entertainment happening while you enjoy your meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jannykpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    185
    56
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great entertainment!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I've only been here a few times in the past few years, but its always a pleasure. The prices seem a bit steep, but if you consider that they're only seasonal & the amount of food you receive is more than generous. The gingerbread is utterly delicious & to die for (not literally of course). I look forward to it every visit. Also, plan to go a little later in the afternoon, as that seems to be when they usually have live music. Lots of fun. Definitely worth a stop. :-)

Helpful?
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A 'Local' Island Best !”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a great spot for island atmosphere .Meet Cape Bretoners in their environment, meaning enjoying a pint (try the island's micro Big Spruce), having the best pub meal possible and hearing great Celtic music. Music is the heart of Inverness Co. and Red Shoe has vibes every day. Stop in for lunch, dinner , evening or Sunday's afternoon jam secession (get there early though).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotia552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chowder Trail”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The chowder was okay, and the atmosphere must be jumping at night. We stopped for lunch as a part of the chowder trail challenge, but the chowder wasn't worth the stop. Friendly staff and rustic décor. Other than a few posters on the walls telling us it belonged to the Rankin sisters, nothing to whoop about.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent music and great atmosphere ”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our experience at the Red Shoe. It was a destination we had planned on going to- for the history/music. We lucked out and the musicians were outstanding- Kenneth Mackenzie on fiddle and pipes - and a super guitarist- whose name we didn't catch. The food was very good- not out if this world- but very good. We had the mussels, salmon pasta, banana split and fruit tart. We also tried the Red Shoe Ale. The staff was very friendly and even helped us encourage our daughters to get up and dance. The waitress asked a local to do some steps to break the ice- and told the band. Our kids are Irish step dancers - and one plays the fiddle, so the experience of doing a quick reel with these super musicians was one they will always remember!!!

Helpful?
Thank Maricara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Shoe Pub also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Red Shoe Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing