We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”
Review of The Red Shoe Pub

The Red Shoe Pub
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mabou
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We stumbled accross this place this past Saturday, which was the day after it had opened for the season. They are only open from June until October. It is very quaint, and it has the very best seafood chowder of anyplace we found in Nova Scotia or PEI. The waiter was super nice to our group, and honest in admitting he had only started the day before, and hadn't tried all the items on the menu yet. He went back to the chef on a couple of occasions to ask if he could change a menu item for us (which they did), and was very attentive to our lunchtime needs. This is a really good restaurant and should be added to Trip Advisor. Thanks, John Ward Smith
Ottawa, On
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's the place to be for an authentic East Coast experience and hospitality. The pub food is great and the entertainment was outstanding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristineOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    204
    63
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Kitchen Party!!!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

First time visiting Cape Breton Island. Spend the night in Mabou, Heard so many great comments about "the Red Shoe". So we had to check it out...... what an awesome little pub. People were friendly, staff was awesome, entertainment was amazing and the food was delicious. We stayed til midnight, just one big good old kitchen party!!!!!! Can't wait to return next year!!!
PS, It's truly a small world, no matter where you go, you always meet up with someone who knows someone you know........

Nova Scotians Burton and Sandra Zwicker

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Burt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place in Mabou Cape Breton!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This pub is owned by the famous Rankin family sisters and is located in Mabou. Have always wanted to go there and was glad we made the two hour trip. It was definately worth it. The waitress was friendly , the place was busy , but we were served promptly. The meal was served a short time after we placed our order. Not a long wait at all. I had the fish and chips and my spouse had the spicy chicken sandwich. He said it was the best he has ever tasted. We will definately return again but next time after 4 pm which is when they serve the dinner menue. Our dessert was warm gingerbread with butturscotch sauce and whipped cream. It was big enough to share.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Famous place!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We heard a lot about this place before getting there for lunch. The help staff was excellent, the room airy and clean. The soup was good and the sandwich so-so. Husband and I had the same thing so nothing to compare. We hope to go back and try again in a few days. Maybe then it will be better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved the Red Shoe”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a great pub. We both ordered the scallops dish, and loved it ! Great food. Good music. The gentleman that played the spoons was a real treat ! Loved our evening at the Red Shoe

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeenaGoderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Shoe Pub also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
 
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Red Shoe Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing