We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of The Red Shoe Pub

The Red Shoe Pub
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mabou
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We stumbled accross this place this past Saturday, which was the day after it had opened for the season. They are only open from June until October. It is very quaint, and it has the very best seafood chowder of anyplace we found in Nova Scotia or PEI. The waiter was super nice to our group, and honest in admitting he had only started the day before, and hadn't tried all the items on the menu yet. He went back to the chef on a couple of occasions to ask if he could change a menu item for us (which they did), and was very attentive to our lunchtime needs. This is a really good restaurant and should be added to Trip Advisor. Thanks, John Ward Smith
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

By the time we arrived the kitchen had closed because the live music had begun. The band was truly amazing and so talented. I can hardly wait to go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2013love1to1travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    186
    56
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A bit pricey. I was expecting more of the "Rankin" experience. Staff was wonderful and the food was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This lovely pub on Cape Breton Island had it all: great food, cold beer and really authentic Celtic music. People were dancing and laughing, the staff were friendly and it was just a great Cape Breton experience. Worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jokam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Music and Food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We timed our visit to attend the afternoon Ceilidh on Sunday. The music was fantastic local music. We stayed for the entire show. The "Pair of Shoes" was an excellent appetizer. My husband enjoyed the Red Shoe beer and a steak. I had the local wine and mussels. All in all a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great little pub in Mabou”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

(June 2006) We got in just as the music was starting up. a lot of tables crowded into a small space with servers squeezing through to bring food and drinks to the tables but what an atmosphere! The music was very lively and people were dancing and joining in with spoons. This was a great stopover on our trip through Cape Breton. Very warm and inviting pub and a must if you are passing through the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Shoe Pub also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
North East Margaree, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Red Shoe Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing