We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good music AND food”
Review of The Red Shoe Pub

The Red Shoe Pub
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mabou
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We stumbled accross this place this past Saturday, which was the day after it had opened for the season. They are only open from June until October. It is very quaint, and it has the very best seafood chowder of anyplace we found in Nova Scotia or PEI. The waiter was super nice to our group, and honest in admitting he had only started the day before, and hadn't tried all the items on the menu yet. He went back to the chef on a couple of occasions to ask if he could change a menu item for us (which they did), and was very attentive to our lunchtime needs. This is a really good restaurant and should be added to Trip Advisor. Thanks, John Ward Smith
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good music AND food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good burgers, cold beer and wonderful fiddle music. Music starts early and the place fills up fast. We arrived at 5:00 and had to wait in line until a seat or two opened up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeatherMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    204
    63
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight at Mabou and made the decision to have dinner at the Red Shoe Pub. My husband ordered the blackened salmon and I ordered the Scallops and Bacon. Both our meals were absolutely fantastic. The proportions were very generous and the flavours tantalising. My scallops were the freshest and most succulent I have tasted for many years. The sauces and salsas for both meals were just right. We shared a gingerbread dessert which just blew us out of the water. OMG it was to die for! The prices were so reasonable -$20 for the scallops and $23 for the salmon. This meal in Australia would have cost upwards of $35 each. We will remember this meal for a long long time for all the right reasons.

Helpful?
Thank Aussie4701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
1 review
“gdowell”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent food(I had blackened salmon special) and my wife had the burger). Friendly service for a very reasobable price. Excellent beer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Music - Great Food”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A visit to the Red Shoe in Mabou is a must stop while in Cape Breton. The music is great, the food is very good, and the staff are efficient and provide wonderful service. We saw a posting at our hotel that music on the Monday night we visited started at 5:00 and went until 7:00. We arrived at the Shoe just as the music began. We chose to sit at the small bar and within minutes every table in the place was full. Our bartender advised that we had come on the best night for music (Monday) - as many locals would join in for a jam session when the scheduled performers were finished for the night. The scheduled performers played until about 7:30, and shortly after a number of local musicians began arriving with guitar and fiddle cases in hand. Two gentlemen began playing about 8:00, and by 8:15 there were 11 musicians playing. Just fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seattletraveler98107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Just a Flat Out Good Time”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We read the reviews and put this as a "must do" on our Cape Breton itinerary. Everyone was right...the Red Shoe Pub is the real deal. We arrived just before 5:00 pm...perfect timing--as we got the last available table. The local Celtic music started right on time at 5:00 pm. We ordered several things off the appetizer menu...to spread our meal out and enjoy the show. The mussels were a show stopper! The local beer was tasty as well. We had a great time listening to the Celtic music and joining in the fun. It was really a standing ovation when an (obviously well known) local fella joined the group and played the most animated set of spoons we have seen. The place remained packed throughout the performance...so plan accordingly. If you coming to Cape Breton...make the Red Shoe a definite stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Shoe Pub also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
 
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Red Shoe Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing