We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Lobster Kettle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We were there Thanksgiving Day, and totally enjoyed ourselves. I had a huge crab leg meal with salad bar, my husband had the scallops. Dessert was big and chocolatey. Good pricing. Even though they were busy, service was prompt and attentive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    148
    52
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delightfully Delicious!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We lucked out and got one of the few outside tables right on the water. We all had perfectly prepared lobsters but also enjoyed the yummy mussels. The salad bar was a nice treat. Service was congenial but slow - it was packed with hungry diners.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EllenAdena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great deck and view”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a great relaxed place to wind down after a very busy day. We enjoyed the crab and the fresh catch of the day. Both cooked very well. My husband was looking forward to the chowder as it came highly recommended by a friend. He enjoyed it but not quite as good as he hoped. We enjoyed just sitting on the deck and admiring the view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tranur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value seafood in a great location”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A typical unpretentious seafront restaurant serving excellent seafood. We chose Snow Crab and Lobster dinners accompanied on the one hand by new potatoes and corn cob and on the other by a selection from an extensive salad bar.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and appreciated the friendly and efficient service from the staff. The total before service with no drinks was $55.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Reliably good food”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have been going to Louisbourg for over 18 years and always eat at the Lobster Kettle. The staff there are always welcoming and helpful. We always have excellent service. The food is consistently good...nothing fancy...just good food. They have a simple, but nice salad bar that can be eaten as a meal or added to your meal. The decor is simple, and has windows on three sides that overlooks the water facing the Fortress. In particular, I love lobster and always get it. My husband has eaten most everything else on the menu. For the money, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Kettle Restaurant also viewed

Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Lobster Kettle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing