We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
166
62
28
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
62
28
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeggar's banquetbeggars banquetocean viewlobsterfull kitchensecond floorlots of fungreat viewfortress louisbourgseparate bedroomoff seasonin townenjoyed my staykitchen areatwo queen bedscape breton islandenjoying the view
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 265 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay in Louisbourg - and the VIEW was amazing! Oceanfront room - front row seat to the ocean complete with a view of the fortress in the distance. The room was spacious, immaculate and very functional. Breakfast was very good. Sorry I missed the Beggars Banquet - next time when I am back.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Winterbreak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you for the great review. Looking out over the ocean, what a great way to start the day. We are so glad your stay with us was a great one and happy to hear you will be visiting us again one day. You will really enjoy the Beggars Banquet as well, lots of great food, fun and entertainment. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

This place exceeded my expectations!!! After checking in we headed to our room. Second floor efficiency with private balcony facing the ocean. It was breathtaking. Private little beach. We could see the Fortress over the ocean in the distance to the right and the beautiful lighthouse along the ocean shoreline to the left. No air conditioning, but a fan provided. Since we were on the 2nd floor, we'd leave our sliders open at night to get the nice breeze and hearing the ocean waves was an added plus. We loved this place. And if you stay here, make sure to sign up for the Beggars Banquet which is held on the property. Also, we had breakfast in the restaurant on the backside of the check-in counter. The breakfast was very nice, simple, but delicious.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean front room
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to join us for the Beggars Banquet. We never tire from hearing these lovely comments. We do hope you will visit us again soon. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We had a nice large room, with a kitchen and great deck over the water. We enjoyed the Beggar's Banquet - good food, good music, bad wine, nice people, great service and servers.

Next day, wanting to cook ourselves, the hotel arranged to have lobsters for us - freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sonoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for the great review. So happy to hear you had a wonder time at the Beggar's Banquet. We so enjoy it as much as our guests do. I will share your lovely comments of praise onto to the staff. We hope you enjoyed your Lobsters. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We booked this place because of the proximity to Louisbourg. First of all, the woman checking us in was trying to do multiple things at once and really made us feel not at all important. She essentially threw the key across the keys at us across the desk as she talked on the phone. We got to our room and the walls are EXTREMELY thin. If you stay here you will need earplugs to get a decent night sleep. We had a lovely family stay on the opposite side of the rooms who let their kids run up and down the deck from 7-10pm. We could hear every word of their conversation. The wifi was not working, so we called the front desk and inquired about the status. They shrugged us off and told us to try different routers. We did (with no luck) and called back asking if they could reset the router. The woman said she would have to get someone else to do it. It never came back on.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dinopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry your stay with us was not what you expected. All of our front desk staff are more that pleasant EVERYDAY. The EXTREMELY thin walls are constructed of 2x6 studding with 5/8 fire code drywall on each side.

As for the free wifi, it is reset everyday at 3 pm by habit to make sure of continuous service for our guests.

We do understand we cannot please everyone 100% of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We had an oceanfront lower level room. It was very spacious with a good sized eat in kitchen area and two queen beds with plenty of room in-between.them. Perfect for a family. It was spotless. I remember seeing a review before we left that the rooms do not look anything like the pictures online but ours absolutely did. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. We had a great time at the Beggar's Banquet, although we were diverted by our GPS which took us the not so scenic-or well paved-route and they were so accommodating. (if Siri tells you to get off the main highway and to turn right on Terra Nova, do not listen! Go straight!) We thought breakfast was relatively inexpensive compared to a lot of hotels but there is no menu you are just given the standard eggs, meat and toast but it was fine. The only downside is that the beach is not really much of a beach, but it was enough for the kids to get their feet wet and to collect a few seashells.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UCityJuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share the lovely comments with the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews