We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pecks Cottages(Louisbourg)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$145
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranberry Cove Inn(Louisbourg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverdale RV Park(Louisbourg)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
162
61
28
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
61
28
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeggar's banquetbeggars banquetocean viewlobsterfull kitchensecond floorfortress louisbourggreat viewseparate bedroomoff seasonin townenjoyed my staykitchen areatwo queen bedscape breton islandenjoying the viewfresh air
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 260 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2017

This place exceeded my expectations!!! After checking in we headed to our room. Second floor efficiency with private balcony facing the ocean. It was breathtaking. Private little beach. We could see the Fortress over the ocean in the distance to the right and the beautiful lighthouse along the ocean shoreline to the left. No air conditioning, but a fan provided. Since we were on the 2nd floor, we'd leave our sliders open at night to get the nice breeze and hearing the ocean waves was an added plus. We loved this place. And if you stay here, make sure to sign up for the Beggars Banquet which is held on the property. Also, we had breakfast in the restaurant on the backside of the check-in counter. The breakfast was very nice, simple, but delicious.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean front room
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to join us for the Beggars Banquet. We never tire from hearing these lovely comments. We do hope you will visit us again soon. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We had a nice large room, with a kitchen and great deck over the water. We enjoyed the Beggar's Banquet - good food, good music, bad wine, nice people, great service and servers.

Next day, wanting to cook ourselves, the hotel arranged to have lobsters for us - freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sonoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for the great review. So happy to hear you had a wonder time at the Beggar's Banquet. We so enjoy it as much as our guests do. I will share your lovely comments of praise onto to the staff. We hope you enjoyed your Lobsters. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We booked this place because of the proximity to Louisbourg. First of all, the woman checking us in was trying to do multiple things at once and really made us feel not at all important. She essentially threw the key across the keys at us across the desk as she talked on the phone. We got to our room and the walls are EXTREMELY thin. If you stay here you will need earplugs to get a decent night sleep. We had a lovely family stay on the opposite side of the rooms who let their kids run up and down the deck from 7-10pm. We could hear every word of their conversation. The wifi was not working, so we called the front desk and inquired about the status. They shrugged us off and told us to try different routers. We did (with no luck) and called back asking if they could reset the router. The woman said she would have to get someone else to do it. It never came back on.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dinopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry your stay with us was not what you expected. All of our front desk staff are more that pleasant EVERYDAY. The EXTREMELY thin walls are constructed of 2x6 studding with 5/8 fire code drywall on each side.

As for the free wifi, it is reset everyday at 3 pm by habit to make sure of continuous service for our guests.

We do understand we cannot please everyone 100% of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We had an oceanfront lower level room. It was very spacious with a good sized eat in kitchen area and two queen beds with plenty of room in-between.them. Perfect for a family. It was spotless. I remember seeing a review before we left that the rooms do not look anything like the pictures online but ours absolutely did. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. We had a great time at the Beggar's Banquet, although we were diverted by our GPS which took us the not so scenic-or well paved-route and they were so accommodating. (if Siri tells you to get off the main highway and to turn right on Terra Nova, do not listen! Go straight!) We thought breakfast was relatively inexpensive compared to a lot of hotels but there is no menu you are just given the standard eggs, meat and toast but it was fine. The only downside is that the beach is not really much of a beach, but it was enough for the kids to get their feet wet and to collect a few seashells.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UCityJuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share the lovely comments with the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We were unable to get an ocean view for two consecutive nights but Julie ant the front desk made sure that our upstairs view room was cleaned first so that we cold immediately move our luggage by 10 a.m. The upstairs view rooms are very large and the view to the fortress worth the extra cost. We slept with the windows open at night to catch the ocean breeze that cooled the room down quickly. I enjoyed the fact that blankets were used instead of the usual duvet which is always to hot for me.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room for the view and quietness. Don't forget to reserve a meal at the Beggar's Banquet which is on site.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Public Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

We are so happy that you were able to get an ocean view room and really enjoy the ocean breeze at it's finest. Julie sure is wonderful and she goes the extra mile to ensure our guests receive the best customer service. Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit us again. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews