We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here for a night in mid-July because of its location near the fortress. The room was clean and spacious, and overlooking the bay. The highlight was the Beggar's Banquet--fun, entertaining and clearly demonstrative of the community support for the tourist industry. My daughter's celiac condition was well accommodated, and reflected the wonderful attentiveness of the staff. I would recommend this inn for anyone visiting the fortress.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the Beggars Banquet. We love hearing about your experience while with us.
We are big supporters of our community and encourage our neighbours in all their endeavours. We hope they do the same for us. Thank you for your encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    53
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
67
107
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The rooms are spacious with hardwood floors and lots of windows bringing in all the light from the ocean. We had a well-equipped kitchenette with a table for dinner. There's a beach belonging to the hotel if you want to walk or pick up rocks.
We didn't have the Beggar's Banquet, but we talked to other guests who said that it was very good and lots of fun.
It takes about 3 minutes to get to the fortress from here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKRoyalOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guests' taking time to critique us. We learn a lot by your comments and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that our best efforts translate into patron satisfaction. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My family and I just returned from an amazing visit to the east coast & part of that was due to the wonderful time we had at the Point of View Suites which included the Bagger's Banquet.
Our room was very clean, spacious and provided us with everything we needed during our visit to Louisbourg. The owner and her staff are also amazing. The icing on top of our visit was the evening we spent at the Bagger's Banquet. This dinner was wonderful especially for my girls who loved dressing up, dancing and talking with the hostess Sabean. We highly recommend this hotel for all families visiting Louisbourg. It is a perfect addition to an visit to the Fortress.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairlady73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We get so encouraged when we hear that we were a positive and rewarding part of someone's vacation. Your satisfaction means so very much to us. Your words validate our efforts.

We're pleased that you and your family enjoyed the Beggars Banquet. Our playtrons leave us with good memories too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a fantastic two night stay at the Point of View Suites. The room was excellent, lots of space with a comfortable bed and plenty of room for air mattresses for the kids. The sound of the surf and the smell of the ocean were a pleasant way to fall asleep and awaken. A must do while you are there is book in for the beggars dinner. The whole family dressed in period costume and were treated to a spectacle. Although the place was packed the air was full of excitement. The French songs by the Acadien tavern entertainer were great and the tavern owner had eyes on my 11 year old son. Much to his chagrin, I do believe he is now betrothed and I will be well cared for given the success of the establishment. It is amazing what is discussed over hot buttered rum in pewter cups. My 13 year old daughter was a little quicker off the mark and was in a deep discussion with one of the bar maids about her fiancé who is returning from France. We all ended up dancing after a plentiful fare of food.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view for the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetTony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Your review was very informative and pleasantly presented. I understand that your son is engaged to our Sabean, but I'm here to break the news to you that, like always, she has found someone else.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and informing future readers what we are all about.. I will relay your complementing comments to all at the Point of View Suites and the Beggars Banquet. Greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Region, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Nothing like feeling at home. The rooms were excellent, the food was great, the staff superb. Keep up the excellent work you have put into your business. I would recommend in a heart beat. Wish there were more places such as yours. Looking to be back, perhaps for a little longer next time and perhaps with more people

Room Tip: Everything you need is at these suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leapeakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We're honoured to have our establishment compared to being home. We have reach our goal if we succeeded in making you feel comfortable and special. Thank you so very much for sharing your experience and giving us this much appreciated rave. We hope to see you and yours again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our part of 6 spent one night here and it was great. We spent the day at the Fort, so it was really nice to be so close to the Fort for our tired feet. Both our rooms overlooked the ocean and were very clean. There is beach access from the rooms, and we spent a few hours after dinner collecting seaglass from along the shore. The staff were very friendly and the room rates were quite reasonable. We opted not to do the Beggar's Banquet, but the restaurant and costumes looked very cool. It is quite popular, so if you are interested in trying it, sign up early.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view, but we liked rooms 8 and 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so very much for your review. It's a very important venue for us to know about our guests' experience while with us. We learn a lot from your comments and concerns. We are always encouraged when we get it right. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are immaculate and the ocean view is great. We also highly enjoyed the beggars banquet. BUT extreme caution to light sleepers - on the lower floor we could hear the upper floor's toilet flushes, footsteps, even vibrating cell phones.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Su K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feed-back. We're sorry that you experienced difficulty sleeping. We have had many concerns brought to our attention due to the hardwood floors and the sound transfer. When this establishment was built every precautions and engineering expertise was implemented to curtail the noise from the wood floors, however we are still addressing concerns. We sound proofed the rooms to the point that you cannot hear the TV playing loudly in the next room or people talking. The noise is from the floors. We opted for hardwood floors instead of carpeting due to allergens and dust. Our reputation for cleanliness is reflective of this decision.

We're glad you enjoyed the Beggars Banquet with us. Though we present it nightly we still have fun participating in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.6 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
18.0 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
24.4 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing