We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
South Mountain, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it. Beautiful view's knowledgeable staff, and very entertaining. Do not forget to partake in the Beggars Banquet. Thank you everyone who made our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevealg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Your satisfaction shows us that we succeeded at our job. Thanks for the encouragement. I will pass it along to all the staff and the owners. Thanks so much for your review, we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    52
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in an Ocean View room. The view of the bay and fort from our room was truly fantastic, and the shore was easy to walk down to from the room. We were able to open 3 windows facing the water, which really made for a peaceful night sleeping to the sound of the waves crashing on shore. We actually enjoyed our stay here much more than at another famous Nova Scotia hotel, although Louisbourg as a town does not have much to offer beyond the fort itself.

One of the previous reviews mentioned a gravel road which gave me some pause. It turns out the hotel is right on the main road, and simply has a gravel parking lot. I wouldn't consider it out of the way at all, and in fact it is positioned right between the main part of town and the fort.

The only negative is their reservation system -- you have to do some combination of calling & emailing in the right order with some back and forth to make sure you get the right room. Maybe it was because I made the reservation early in spring before the hotel was open for their summer business.

Room Tip: Ocean View is well worth the added cost. Some rooms only have 1 window facing the ocean and some ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank femtoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so very much for your encouraging review. We sometimes need our efforts recognized and when they are we thrive to do even better. We know how important a vacation is to our guests and understand that we contribute to your experience. We truly want you to relax and enjoy what it is we have to offer. Your generous words have succeeded in showing us that you indeed left us satisfied with your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We chose this place based on the reviews on trip advisor. Biggest mistake I have ever made. For $150 a night (and that was the government rate) we had a room with one queen bed and a sofa bed. The room was clean but that's the only nice thing I can say. The bed was rock hard, the light from outside was shining inside lighting up the entire room and we had the blinds closed. There was absolutely no sound proofing as from just before 6 am we could hear the heard of elephants upstairs stomping around. Not to mention the terrible wifi signal and the complete and total lack of air conditioning. The staff was pleasant but to be frank, this place isn't worth $100, even with the beautiful view. Don't expect to lay on their "private beach" as it's nothing but rocks and garbage. This is definitely a case of false advertisement.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I would like to address your review point by point.. First of all, reviews on tripadvisor are written by guests such as yourself and they are not advertising purchased by establishments. We have no control on opinions our guests post on this or other sites. Our guest satisfaction ratings have put us #1 in our area for which we are extremely appreciative.
Most of our rooms have darkening blinds but unfortunately your room did not and for that I apologize. All of our beds are high quality commercial mattresses. Sorry you found it to firm.

Being as we have hardwood floors instead of carpeting we took every precaution in insulating between floor to the best of engineering abilities. Sorry that you were disturbed by noise. I also assure you, seeing as we have a no animal policy, that you did not have elephants above you.

We have three wifi stations on the property to serve every corner of the premises. Sorry you experienced a week signal.

We do not have air conditioners in our rooms. Being right on the Atlantic ocean we don't often need them. This summer is proof that they are not needed due to a colder and later summer than usual.

As for our beach, it is pebbly but we do have a nice sandy and private corner which has been enjoyed by many guests. Louisbourg also has a few nice beaches near by if ours was not satisfactory. As for garbage on the beach, we are not in control of what the ocean deposits on our property. We can only blame litterbugs for that dishonour.

I assure you that if you would have brought your concerns to our attention we would have done our best to insure your stay would have been more to your satisfaction. We are on the property 24/7 just for that purpose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We had not really researched places to stay in Louisbourg, but a cursory look through the hotel list and led us to pick this one.

What a great surprise! When we were greeted, our room was not ready but we were going to spend the day at the fortress and we got a discount coupon for admission charges. We also opted for the Beggar's Banquet (reviewed separately) as our dinner for the evening.

When we did check in, the room was very clean and spacious. Despite having to go to the main building for ice, everything was just great. All the staff we met were very friendly and a pleasure to deal with.

Highly recommend this inn - when we go back to Louisbourg, we will return here as well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're happy you found us and stayed with us. We look forward to serving you again. Thanks for the rave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is THE place to stay when in Louisbourg! Our 2-week trip through the Maritimes ended in Louisbourgh with a 2-night stay. Nice and close to the Fortress. The room was bright, spacious and clean with a nice large kitchen and easy access and a view to the sea. We didn't attend the Beggar's Banquet but heard good things. The staff are all very pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azevedo_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Very happy you were pleased with finding us and enjoyed your stay. We never tire of hearing from our guests. We get encouraged to continue to do what seems to be working and are ready to learn more to add to our services. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

From a drive through town, it appears that Point of View Suites is one of the nicest places to stay in Louisbourg. The room was large, clean and comfortable. There was a nice view of the water (as long as you didn't look toward the fishery complex!) If staying at Point of View, plan to partake in the Beggar's Banquet -- it was fun and delicious (see separate review). The best part about Point of View is the staff -- from the first email inquiry to finding something to eat for breakfast for my son, they were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with triadvisor. We pride ourselves, here at the Point of View, in ensuring that our best allows our guest a comfortable and pleasant stay. We truly appreciate the comments our guests share in these reviews. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I finished off our tour of the Atlantic on our Honeymoon at Point of View Suites in Louisbourg. Immediately when we entered the main office we were informed that we were upgraded to the best suite available (the signature suite). The room was simply breath taking, luxury through and through. Staff was super friendly and we had zero problems during our stay. The beggars banquette was a unique and joyful experience. Highly recommend this place to anyone planning on staying in Louisbourg!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the rave. It's always a pleasure hearing that our guests had a remarkable time. We were happy to hear that your up-grade was appreciated and by coincidence it was on your honeymoon. What are the odds. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
56.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
54.7 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing