We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis In Small Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Oasis In Small Town”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here on our Eastern trip and were satisfied with it. The room seemed to have been recently improved as things smelled new. We stayed right on the ocean. Sadly, the weather was bad that day with hurricane winds and rain so the great view was out a window. You can see the fort from the room. The checkin clerk was very friendly and offered to bring us our meals in our room. We didn't do this as the restaurant is nice in the main building. At this time of the year there is nothing open in town so buying the upgrade to American plan was a no-brainer. The food was very good and the clerk served it. I believe there were only a couple of ladies staying in another room at this time of the year. I don't know when and if they close for the season but I recommend it.

Room Tip: get room 1 with its two ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is indeed an oasis on the sea. It was a pleasure to offer to serve you in your room. Though late in the season, it is still our goal to make our guests feel important and appreciated. I must appologize for the dalay in my response. Now that we are closed for the season I neglect one of my favorite responsiblities and that is reading how our guests have felt about their stay with us. We learn so much from your comments and find great reward in the praises we get for our efforts to insure you have a great experience while with us. We never forget how impotant our guests are and that we are here to serve them. We also appreciate all concerns brought to our attention. It give us goals towards improvement.

I thank you again for staying with us and for sharing you experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    53
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
67
107
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here in October as a last minute stop while visiting the Fort of Louisbourg. Julie (manager?) was a fountain of limitless knowledge and patience with us. She even allowed us to stay in an upgraded suite for a reg room rate and it was breathtaking-like a honeymoon suite for an absolute bargain! We will definetely be back-next time we'd like to bring our 2 younger children during their "beggars banquet"-which sounds absolutely amazing! ALL the staff was wonderful, the hotel and the grounds were very well kept and our suite being right off the water made it even more spectacular-even for this time of year! please give this hotel a try-you will NOT be dissappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as the (brand new) hardwood floors are immaculate but not soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154914Melissa_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I want to thank so much for your review. I passed it on to all who work here as an encouragement and a compliment to their efforts. We try our best to ensure our guests have a positive and memorable stay while with us. When we hear that we indeed have accomplished our goal we are rewarded by your satisfaction.

We look forward to meeting the rest of your family and entertain you at our Beggars Banquet on your next stay with us. Again I thank you for taking the time to write this complimenting review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clefeland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fantastic, majestic, white estate house hard by the sea with stately suites and balconies overlooking the wave-filled sound. The Kennedy's have pulled out all stops in designing and furnishing the suites: spacious with kitchen amenities, full fridge, microwave; large modern bathrooms; queen sized beds with regal pillows all at very reasonable pricing. Truly the suites say "Welcome"! In fact, the accommodations were so "spot on" that we extended our stay by 2 additional days.
The separate restaurant features the freshest sea food this side of Scotland. For 2 consecutive nights my wife/consort/navigator had the snow crab legs and made low gutteral noises while injesting. The haddock was perfection and all was served by an intrepid staff who hovered making certain all was as it should be. The only thing warmer than the food was the reception one receives from the staff and the Kennedy's.
Arriving too late to participate, the Point of View hosts a "Beggar's Banquet" complete with provided beggars costumes for the guests to don while the revelry persists. I was assured most directly that had I been present in kilt regalia, the banquet may have become more intense (after having 2 Scottish constables in Aberdeen looking for a nutso American in a kilt- somethoing about a very large bar tab, a table top, the kilt, and dancing, perhaps it was just as well we arrived after season.). Everyone who has participated raved about the banquet evening so with our next visit in 2013, we shall participate (perhaps Loiusbourg does not have constables).
We believe that the Point of Veiw was one of the high experiences of this our first visit to New Scotland, and will most assuredly add it to our next trip as well. We cannot recommend the Point of View with sufficient praise and encourage one and all visitors to Louisbourg to spend time at this magnificient facility.


Regards, Dr. & Mrs. Sumodi, Chief, Clan Grant OSC #17
South Euclid, Ohio, USA

Room Tip: Request a second floor suite overlooking the bay as the balcony is most conducive for injesting much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dr. and Mrs. Sumodi, thank you!. Your review of our establishment is indeed heart warming and extremely encouraging. Your enjoyment, found here with us at the Point of View, is evident in your praises. We look forward to seeing you again and we are anticipating your arrival in 2013 with an open door and a banter. I'm sure that your participation in the Beggars Banquet will be memorable for all involved. I personally look onward to the event.

Thanks again for your beautiful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Point of View Suites really does have a great view, located right on the edge of the water. We had the largest hotel room we've had in a while, and it was an interesting room, hardly a right angle in the place. The dining room was the only place open for breakfast in the town, and the food was adequate if not exciting. The Fort, dating to the 1740's was close by, with a very interesting and complete re-creation of life at that time. It claims to be bigger than Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel also includes an RV park, but there were only 2-3 RV's when we were there. Can't say what it would be like in high season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I want to thank you for your review. We look forward to reading about what our guest think about their experience with us. We get encouraged by the praises and learn from the concerns. Thank you for taking the time to share.

Our operating seasons are short here in Cape-Breton and many establishments reduce their services earlier than we do - which explains why we are the only breakfast place in town. Our RV park slows down a bit in September and picks up again during the Celtic Colour Tours.

Your review was appreciated, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were at the Point of View for one night and found it perfectly serviceable. There was some kind of banquet in the parking lot with what was supposed to be decent food and terrifying musical accompaniment from the 17th century and we avoided it like the plague. And the view of the ocean from the window was nice, although the beach below is clogged with spume and garbage.

In all though, recommended. There's not much to see in LB except for the fort and don't expect to have a charming smalltown experience. It's a bit of a backwater with fresh lobster ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barksducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the input from our visitors and use them as encouragement and or guidelines towards improvements. They are great tools in gaging our performence.

I do however want to address some of your comments. In our defense, our 18th century dining experience is served in a tent adjacent to the our dining room, and the event does have a minstrel who sings old french and some english songs, while playing his guitar. It is an event applauded by the many who have eaten with us and participated in the entertainment. As for the spume and garbage on the shore, I assure you that what you saw could very well have been a wash-up of sea foam along with kelp (seaweed). If there was garbage, the sea brought it onto the beach, specially after high winds. The man made garbage is something the waters share equally as it deposits its debris on all our beaches at some time and point.

Louisbourg is a small fishing village with all the modern conveniences known to man. We are not backwater. We do boast the fortress of Louisbourg as our main attraction because it is. When most people come here it is to see our "Jewel of Parks Canada", which happens to be the fortress. We have beautiful beaches, history at all ends of our village, the lighthouse with its ocean lined trail, the train museum and more. We are not a bustling metropolitan with Andrew Lloyd Webber spectaculars. We do enjoy our local talents at our playhouse for nightly entertainment of Celtic and Acadian music. We have been entertained by such names as Natalie MacMaster, Rita McNeil, Men of the Deep, Evans&Doherty, and great kitchen party evenings. We hear the raves from those who have attended the Playhouse and truly enjoyed our local flair.

Your comments has given me a chance to introduce our area to the readers of Trip Advisor, for which I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location, convenient to the Louisbourg Fortress, great views of both the Fortress and ocean. Rooms are birght, airy, and nicely furnished. Meals (breakfast and dinner) were good, service good as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aec11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I want to thank you for your complimenting review. We work daily at maintaining a quality service with a welcoming atmosphere for all who cross our door. It is by your comments that we see how we are fairing. I'm pleased that you enjoyed all we had to offer. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Their current website gives one the impression that you'll be checking into five-star accommodations at Point of View Suites, but Unit 1 where we spent one night was unremarkable. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean, the couch a good place on which to pile stuff, and, although we didn't use it, the kitchenette area appeared serviceable. All in all, our room was adequate. We enjoyed the view of the Fort from the ground-level porch outside our room, and Point of View is conveniently close to the Fort and the limited dining opportunities in town. I would like to commend the staff for their friendly greeting and helpfulness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarzadzanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We appreciate all comments and concerns. I am sorry if you felt mislead by our website. We do offer everything that is displayed, however, those pics are a collage to show only some of what we have. Those pictures do not show one specific suite. We show you different views from or of different suites to give the traveler an idea of what we are about. We have 19 unique suites. Not one of them is the same.
I wish you would have brought your concerns to our attention while hear with us. I would have personally given you a tour of our other suites to give you a more comprehensive idea of what we are all about. We thrive to do our best on a daily basis keeping in mind that we are to be a memory to our travelers. We are warmed by the raves we have received and have learned from the concerns brought to our attention in the hope of improving the experience at our establishment for those who stay with us.

Thank you also for breaking down your review into categories. It shows us where we are to draw our attentions. Greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.6 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
39.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
54.7 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing